WWD.com/accessories-news/trends/spring-2010-vintage-inspired-accessories-2447093/
government-trade
government-trade

Spring 2010: Vintage-Inspired Accessories

Spring’s glitzy baubles pay homage to Irina Ionesco’s pseudo-erotic photographs of Eva, her daughter and muse.

View Slideshow
Appeared In
Special Issue
WWD Accessory issue 02/08/2010

Play dress up of a naughty sort. Spring’s glitzy baubles pay homage to Irina Ionesco’s pseudo-erotic photographs of Eva, her daughter and muse. With accessories like this, who needs clothes?

This story first appeared in the February 8, 2010 issue of WWD.  Subscribe Today.

 

 

TO SEE A BEHIND-THE-SCENES VIDEO FROM THE SHOOT, CLICK HERE >>

Top: Balenciaga enamel and tin necklace, $1,155, at Balenciaga, New York (212.206.0872); Erickson Beamon oxidized sterling silver–plated metal and Crystallized-Swarovski Elements finger tips, $478 each, at Beyond 7, New York (646.619.6857); Anna Sui sequin mask, made to order, at Anna Sui, New York (212.941.8406). Scarf credits, page 94. What Katie Did polyester bra, $52.50, at whatkatiedid.com.

 

 

 

 

Center: Sonia Rykiel acetate and glass crystal sunglasses, $860, at Sonia Rykiel, New York (212.396.3060) and Boston (617.426.2033); Leon Megé platinum, antiqued-silver, Paraiba cabochon tourmaline and diamond ring (left), $14,000, and platinum, white diamond and blue moonstone ring (right), $12,000, at Leon Megé Inc., New York, (212.768.3868); Roger Vivier enamel brooch, $395, at Roger Vivier, New York (212.861.5371); Vionnet brass and crystal brooch, $1,065, at Jamie, Nashville (615.292.4188); Adrienne Landau fox fur shrug, $695, at adriennelandau.com.

 

 

 

 

Bottom: Samantha Storto for Chado Ralph Rucci vinyl and ostrich feather gloves, made to order, at Chado Ralph Rucci, New York (212.819.9066); Nina Ricci sequin lambskin clutch, $1,535, at Jeffrey, Atlanta (404.237.9000); Viktor & Rolf leather and latex shoe, price available upon request, at viktor-rolf.com. Haute by Carol Malony silk and French lace bra, $198, and silk chiffon and French lace panties, $98, at La Mode Lingerie, Houston (713.529.3980).

 

 

 

 

ILLUSTRATIONS BY ERIC PERRY; MODEL: LAURA KENNER AT MUSE MANAGEMENT; HAIR BY MICHELE SALVADORI FOR JOHN SAHAG SALON NY; MAKEUP BY KOJI FOR MAC PRO AT KAYRUNN HIRSCH SALON; MANICURE BY OLYA TITOVA FOR CHANEL COSMETICS AT JUDY CASEY INC.; FASHION ASSISTANT: TAMAR LEVINE

 

Next: More vintage-inspired accessories >>

Top: Jennifer Behr patent leather, nylon and Crystallized-Swarovski Elements pearl headband, $262, at jenniferbehr.com; Marc Jacobs silk and pearl necklace, $200, at Marc Jacobs, Mercer Street, New York (212.343.1490); Carolina Amato silk gloves, $85, at carolinaamato.com; Alexis Bittar 18-karat vermeil on brass ring with shell pearl, $150, at Alexis Bittar, SoHo (212.625.8340) and West Village (212.727.1093), New York, and alexisbittar.com; VBH silk satin clutch, $1,500, at VBH, New York (212.717.9800); Fogal microfiber thigh-high tights, $47, at Fogal, New York (212.355.3254) and Chicago (312.944.7866); René Caovilla silk satin and pearl sandal, $1,050, at Neiman Marcus nationwide (888.888.4757) and neimanmarcus.com. Blush Lingerie polyester and elastane satin bra, $34, and panties, $22, Underwear, Austin, Tex. (512.478.1515), and urbanoutfitters.com.

 

 

 

 

Center: Janis by Janis Savitt rhodium-plated, brass and Swarovski crystal necklace, $1,100, at Bergdorf Goodman, New York (212.753.7300); Vera Wang tulle and silk cuffs, $300, at Vera Wang, New York (212.382.2184), and verawang.com; Prada leather and crystal clutch, $1,995, at select Saks Fifth Avenue stores (877.551.SAKS); Valentino tulle shoe, $4,700, at select Valentino boutiques (800.997.0140). Adrienne Landau black silk velvet and polyester scarf, price available upon request, at adriennelandau.com; DVF animal print silk scarf, $165, at Saks Fifth Avenue, New York (877.551.7257), and saks.com, and silk scarf, $295, at nordstrom.com. What Katie Did polyester bra, $32.30, at whatkatiedid.com, and Lascivious Powernet and tulle knickers, $115, at lascivious.co.uk.

 

 

 

 

Bottom: Jonathan Kelsey leather shoes, $745, at saks.com; Gaspar Gloves by Dorothy Gaspar nylon gloves, $67, at gaspargloves.com; Ivanka Trump 18-karat white gold diamond earrings with black spinel drops, $68,500, at Ivanka Trump Boutique, New York (212.756.9912), and ivankatrumpcollection.com. Dolce & Gabbana silk bodysuit, $1,195, at select Dolce & Gabbana stores (877.70.DGUSA) and dolcegabbana.it. On floor: Vera Wang rhinestone and chain necklace, $995, at Vera Wang, New York (212.382.2184), and verawang.com; Ben-Amun by Isaac Manevitz Crystallized-Swarovski Elements earrings, made to order, at Ben-Amun, New York (212.944.6480); Suneet Varma for Judith Leiber Austrian crystal silver-plated minaudière, $4,395, at Judith Leiber, New York (212.223.2999).

 

 

 

Next: More vintage-inspired accessories >>

Top: Dior gunmetal and Crystallized-Swarovski Elements necklace, $1,745, at Dior, New York (212.931.2950) and Beverly Hills (310.859.4700). Passion Bait silk satin bra, $120, at passionbait.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bottom: Adrienne Landau rabbit fur shrug, $395, at adriennelandau.com; Lanvin beaded silk bag with grosgrain ribbon, $1,818, at Kirna Zabête, New York (212.941.9656); Delphine-Charlotte Parmentier palladium and acetate bracelet, $521, at Gamma Player, Chicago (773.235.0755), and shop.harveynichols.com; Vionnet suede, elastic, sequin and leather shoe, $1,459, at vionnet.com. What Katie Did bra and Chantal Thomass satin microfiber and tulle panties, $90, at chantalthomass.com.

 

 

 

Next: More vintage-inspired accessories >>

 

Top: Yestadt Millinery straw hat with silk satin, patent and ostrich trim, $388, at Henri Bendel, Fifth Avenue (212.247.1100), The Hat Shop (212.219.1445) and Anthropologie (212.246.0386), New York; Swarovski crystal gold-plated metal and enamel ring, $300, at select Swarovski boutiques (800.426.3088) and swarovski.com; Alexis Mabille metal brass bracelet, $305, at Jeffrey, New York (212.206.1272), and alexismabille.com; John Hardy 18-karat gold and silver bracelet with amethyst and sapphire, $18,000, at johnhardy.com; Stella McCartney Plexiglas and metal bag, $1,495, at Stella McCartney, New York (212.255.1556) and Los Angeles (310.273.7051); Miu Miu suede bag with metal flower, $1,450, at select Miu Miu boutiques at miumiu.com; Burberry silk satin shoe, $795, at select Nordstrom stores (888.282.6060). Jane Pain silk satin underwire, price available upon request, at janepain.com, and Janet Reger silk bra, $160, and shortie, $118, at janetreger.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bottom: Benoit Missolin leather headband with plastic sequins, $381, at benoitmissolin.com; Ranjana Khan Crystallized-Swarovski Elements and silk necklace, $550, and Swarovski crystal, pearl and silk necklace, $790, at saksfifthavenue.com and holtrenfrew.com; Pepita vintage lace, yarn, glass crystals and brass necklace, $147, at Flock, Boston (617.391.0222), and Kitty Kyle, Memphis (901.452.2323); Nina Ricci lambskin gloves, $575, at
ninaricci.com. Jenna Leigh mesh and microfiber onepiece, $170, at La Folie, Berkeley, Calif. (510.845.1616).

 

 

View Slideshow