By and  on March 10, 2005

PARIS — Guillaume de Lesquen has been named managing director of L’Oréal’s high-end skin care and makeup brand Biotherm.

De Lesquen, 41, succeeds Hervé Navellou, who has been named managing director for L’Oréal’s mass market products in Asia.

De Lesquen, who took up his new post in February, previously held numerous jobs within the French beauty giant, including deputy managing director of Lancôme, managing director of the group’s Giorgio Armani Parfums et Cosmetiques unit and managing director of Maybelline Brazil. He also held positions at Gemey and L’Oréal Paris.

Additionally, Biotherm has been made part of L’Oréal’s Prestige et Collections International division, headed by Patricia Turck Paquelier. The division also includes the Helena Rubinstein, Giorgio Armani, Cacharel, Guy Laroche, Paloma Picasso and Viktor & Rolf brands.

In other L’Oréal news, the company last week feted its seven-year partnership with UNESCO honoring remarkable women in the scientific field with the Women in Science awards.

This year coincides with the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics’ World Year of Physics, and fittingly the five L’Oréal-UNESCO laureates were all physicists, specializing in nanoscience or quantum physics.

This year’s winners were: Zohra Ben Lakhdar of Tunisia, for her experiments and models in infrared light spectroscopy and its applications to pollution detection and medicine; Fumiko Yonezawa of Japan, for her theory and computer simulations of amorphous semiconductors and liquid metals; Dominique Langevin of France, for her fundamental investigations of emulsions, detergents and foams; Belita Koiller of Brazil, for her research on electrons in disordered materials such as glass, and Myriam Sarachik of the U.S., for her experiments on electrical conduction and the transition between metals and insulators. In addition to the five laureates, 15 young female researchers from around the world were awarded fellowships.

The Women in Science event was presided over by Pierre-Giles de Gennes, Nobel Laureate in physics. The director general of UNESCO, Koïchiru Matsuura, and the chairman and chief executive officer of L’Oréal, Lindsay Owen-Jones, presented the awards.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus