By  on May 23, 2008

L'Oréal and UNESCO named five honorees at its annual Women in Science awards ceremony, which was held on Thursday in Manhattan at the American Museum of Natural History and marked the 10th anniversary of the program.

Those recognized for their groundbreaking research across a range of disciplines — including neuroscience, oceanography and aerospace engineering — were scientists Sara Aton, Ania Bleszynski-Jayich, Laura Lapham, Sridevi Vedula Sarma and Sandra Ugrina. The winners are to each receive a $40,000 grant for independent scientific research.

"Since the program's inception, we have recognized 52 winners from five continents and 120 international fellows from around the world who have made significant contributions in their world and who serve as role models and ambassadors," said Laurent Attal, president and chief executive officer of L'Oréal USA. "Women are making progress by forging ahead and overcoming obstacles, and we have a strong stance on this by talking about women in science and making sure the world knows what they have to offer."

During the ceremony, Shirley Ann Jackson, president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, also was honored with the L'Oréal USA for Women in Science Role Model Award for her role in helping to shape the image of women in science.

To access this article, click here to subscribe or to log in.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus