PARIS L’Oréal said it has created a scientific advisory board, which is charged with bringing unexpected ideas relating to the company’s research interests.


RELATED STORY: L’Oréal Makes Executive Committee Appointments >>

The group, comprised of nine scientists from various disciplines and countries, met Wednesday in Paris for the first time. Jacques Leclaire, scientific director of L’Oréal research and innovation, chaired the gathering. The group will meet under him twice yearly.

Its members include:

• Bonnie Bassler, Howard Hughes medical institute investigator and Squibb professor of molecular biology at Princeton University

• Thomas Bieber, department chairman and professor of dermatology and allergy at University of Bonn

• Vanderlan de Silva Bolzani, professor at the Institute of Chemistry at São Paulo State University

• Elaine Fuchs, professor of cell biology and development at Rockefeller University

• Nina Jablonski, distinguished professor of anthropology at Pennsylvania State University

• Dominique Langevin, director of research, laboratory of solid state physics at CNRS, University of Paris-Sud

• Samir Mitragotri, professor of chemical engineering at University of California, Santa Barbara

• Jun Wang, executive director at Beijing Genome Institute (Shenzhen) and professor at University of Copenhagen

• René Wijffels, chairman of the bioprocess engineering group at Wageningen University

“The establishment of a scientific advisory board is essential and is a first for L’Oréal,” said Laurent Attal, executive vice president of research and innovation at the French beauty giant. “It is essential because science is the basis of all our innovations. In a rapidly changing world, the board’s reflections will contribute to strengthening the link between science and beauty worldwide and, as such, will be an extraordinary source of inspiration and guidance for L’Oréal.”