LAS VEGAS — Winners of this year's North American Hairstyling Awards were named here Sunday night at the Mandalay Bay hotel. Likened to the Academy Awards of hairstyling, the event drew hundreds of stylists awaiting their fate, which was determined by a panel of beauty editors and stylists. Entries were narrowed down to five finalists per category from more than 600 entries through a blind online judging process. The NAHA gala, in its 18th year, was hosted by "Entertainment Tonight" correspondent Steven Cojocaru. NAHA is presented by the Professional Beauty Association, a nonprofit association that represents the interests of the professional beauty industry from manufacturers and distributors to salons and spas.

Master Stylist of the Year
Dusty Simington
Salon Gregorie's of Newport Beach, Calif.

Hairstylist of the Year
Allen Ruiz Jackson
Ruiz Salon of Austin, Tex.

Salon Team of the Year
Pure Montreal Editorial Stylist of the Year Michael Albor The Loft Salon and Day Spa of Boston

Student Hairstylist of the Year
Jess Zehnder
Aveda Fredric's Institute of Indianapolis

Makeup Artist of the Year
Maria Nguyen
Milpitas, Calif.

Avant Garde
Anthony Cress/Kimmi Le
Salon Gregorie's of Newport Beach, Calif.

Contemporary Classic
Bennie Pollard
Hair by Bennie and Friends of Louisville, Ky.

Fashion Forward
Veronica Bessey
Toni & Guy of Carrollton, Tex.

Sue Pemberton
Henderson, Nev.

Salon Design
6 Salon
George Nikollaj of Royal Oak, Mich.

Steve Elias
Atelier Aveda of San Jose, Calif.

To access this article, click here to subscribe or to log in.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus