WINNING A MIRROR: On Wednesday afternoon, over a lunch of beef filet and Georgetown cupcakes, the 2012 Mirror Awards were held to honor the best media writing of the year. The Newhouse School at Syracuse University always recruits a TV personality to host and, this year, Anderson Cooper was the one delivering pithy one liners from the stage at The Plaza hotel.

The winners: Ken Auletta, who won an award for the second year in a row, this time for his profile of New York Times executive editor Jill Abramson. Anna Holmes took the prize for best commentary, for three pieces, including a column on Donald Trump’s sexism for The Washington Post. Rebecca Traister, who singled out her babysitter by name as the one who made it possible for her to continue writing, won for best commentary, for three pieces including “Seeing ‘Bridesmaids’ is a social responsibility” and Joe Pompeo won for best profile, in digital media, for “The road ahead for The Huffington Post: Nine months and a merger later, ‘Capital-J Journalism’ is still a work in progress.”

This story first appeared in the June 14, 2012 issue of WWD.  Subscribe Today.

Peter Maass was awarded the inaugural John M. Higgins Award for best in-depth/enterprise reporting, for “The Toppling,” which ran in The New Yorker but was partially funded by the nonprofit newsroom at ProPublica. The piece reported on how the American media put too much significance on the falling of Saddam Hussein’s statue, creating a false sense of victory. Adam Lashinsky won best single article print for his Fortune story, “How Apple works: Inside the world’s biggest startup” and best single article digital went to Rhonda Roland Shearer and Malik Ayub Sumbal at iMediaEthics, a nonpartisan journalism ethics Web site.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus