By  on June 24, 2014

Macy’s Inc., in an effort to bring greater diversity to its board, has added Annie Young-Scrivner, executive vice president of Starbucks Coffee Co. and president of its Teavana business, to the roster.

Young-Scrivner becomes the 11th member of the board. Ten of the members are independent directors and, of those, five are women.

“Annie Young-Scrivner is an extraordinarily talented executive and business leader with an impressive track record of success in marketing, brand-building and innovation on a regional, national and international level. She will be a significant asset to our company, given the important role that our directors play in guiding the company’s strategic direction in satisfying emerging consumer demand,” said Terry J. Lundgren, Macy’s chairman and chief executive officer. “Most striking is Young-Scrivner’s consistent level of achievement in driving business results in every step of her career. At Macy’s, she will be part of an unusually diverse board that keenly understands the dynamic customer marketplace served by our omnichannel brands.”

In February, Young-Scrivner, 45, was named president of Teavana, a tea retailer acquired by Starbucks a year ago. Teavana has more than 350 stores in the U.S., Canada, Mexico and the Middle East. Young-Scrivner has held several top jobs at Starbucks since 2009, including president of Starbucks Canada, president of Tazo Tea and Starbucks’ global chief marketing officer.

From 1990 through 2009, she rose up the ranks of PepsiCo Inc., starting as a sales and marketing intern at Frito-Lay and advancing to vice president and general manager of PepsiCo’s Target team, chairman and region president for PepsiCo Foods in Greater China and chief marketing officer and head of sales for the Quaker Foods and Snacks Division. Young-Scrivner’s first job while in college was as a sales associate at the former Bon Marché department store in Seattle, which was taken over by Macy’s.

In addition to Lundgren and Young-Scrivner, the members of Macy’s board are Stephen Bollenbach, Meyer Feldberg, Joyce Roche, Craig Weatherup, Deirdre Connelly, Sara Levinson, Joseph Neubauer, Paul Varga and Marna Whittington.

To access this article, click here to subscribe or to log in.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus