MILAN — Gucci Group on Wednesday revealed the shortlist and jury for the fourth edition of its annual award to an international artist for his or her contribution to film.

The four nominees for the 2009 Gucci Group Award, the winner of which will be named Sept. 7 at Palazzo Grassi in Venice, during the Italian city’s 66th international film festival, are: French photographer Yann Arthus-Bertrand for directing “Home”; American journalist Mark Boal for screenwriting “The Hurt Locker”; Iranian photographer and video artist Shirin Neshat for directing “Women Without Men,” and Swiss video artist Pipilotti Rist for directing “Pepperminta.”

This story first appeared in the August 17, 2009 issue of WWD.  Subscribe Today.

Judging the prize will be director, screenwriter and actress Zoe Cassavetes; actress Patricia Clarkson, fashion photographer Mario Testino; editor Ingrid Sischy, and Marco Muller, director of the Venice Film Festival.

The previous winners of the award were British artist Steve McQueen (2008), American artist Julian Schnabel (2007) and Australian musician Nick Cave (2006).

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus