By  on June 16, 2014

NEW YORK — Diane von Furstenberg will receive the Superstar Award at The Fashion Group International’s Night of Stars this fall. Von Furstenberg will be joined by several Star honorees at the annual event. In fashion, they are Joseph Altuzarra, Peter Copping, Brunello Cucinelli and Sarah Burton. Elie Tahari will take home a trophy for brand vision, while Carol Hamilton of L’Oréal is the honoree in the beauty category.As for the other awards, corporate leadership will go to Tom Kennedy for Fossil; sustainability to Roger Schmid for Natura Brasil, and interior design to William Sofield. Caroline McCall will receive the Edith Head Costume Design award for her work on “Downton Abbey,” and Harper’s Bazaar’s Glenda Bailey is being honored with the Lord & Taylor Fashion Oracle award.Of the night’s “Superstar” von Furstenberg, FGI president and chief executive officer Margaret Hayes said: “Diane is truly a legend in her own time. Perhaps more than any other American designer, she has been profoundly influential in elevating the visibility and importance of the American fashion industry around the world. But beyond Diane’s exceptional talent is a sense of compassion and a generosity of spirit that drive the work of her family’s foundation, which brings quality, hope, beauty and grace to the lives of so many.”This year’s gala, at Cipriani 55 Wall Street on Oct. 23, is themed “The Protagonists.” As in the past, Simon Doonan will serve as master of ceremonies, while Ruben Toledo will create illustrations for the invitation and program.

To continue reading this article...

To Read the Full Article

Tap into our Global Network

Of Industry Leaders and Designers

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus