Appeared In
Special Issue
WWD CFDA issue 06/09/2009


This story first appeared in the June 9, 2009 issue of WWD.  Subscribe Today.

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte
Narciso Rodriguez

Menswear Designer of the Year
Michael Bastian
Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders
Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein

Accessory Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Vera Wang

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Thakoon Panichgul
Alexander Wang
Jason Wu

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Patrik Ervell
Robert Geller
Tim Hamilton

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry
Alejandro Ingelmo
Albertus Swanepoel

Eugenia Sheppard Award
Ed Nardoza
Editor in Chief, Women’s Wear Daily

International Award
Marc Jacobs for Louis Vuitton

Eleanor Lambert Award
Jim Moore, Creative Director, GQ

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Anna Sui

Board of Directors’ Special Tribute
First Lady Michelle Obama

Generously underwritten by Swarovski
Monday, June 15, 2009
Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center

The Council of Fashion Designers of America would like to thank Swarovski, the underwriter of the 2009 CFDA Fashion Awards.

The CFDA also thanks the Geoffrey Beene Foundation for its support of the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, L’Oréal Paris and Women’s Wear Daily for sponsoring the Popular Vote Award and the Liz Claiborne Art Ortenberg Foundation for the new Liz Claiborne Fashion Scholarship Award, in addition to the following companies for their generosity:

Bumble and bumble
Continental Airlines
Ernst & Young LLP
Waldorf-Astoria New York

American Express
Calvin Klein Inc.
Condé Nast Publications
Diane von Furstenberg Studio
The Estée Lauder Cos. Inc.
Geoffrey Beene Foundation
Louis Vuitton
MAC Cosmetics
Marc Jacobs International
Michael Kors Inc.
Swarovski North America Consumer Goods Business

Barneys New York
Bergdorf Goodman
Camuto Group
Cole Haan
David Yurman
Dennis Basso
Donna Karan International
Elie Tahari
Gilt Groupe
IMG Fashion
In Style
J. Crew
Josie Cruz Natori
Kate Spade New York
Karen Harvey Consulting Group
Kenneth Cole Productions Inc.
Laird + Partners
Liz Claiborne Art Ortenberg Foundation
L’Oréal Luxury Products Division
Lord & Taylor
Marie Claire
LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton
Neiman Marcus Inc.
Oscar de la Renta Ltd.
People/People Style Watch
Polo Ralph Lauren
Rachel Roy New York
Saks Fifth Avenue
The Talbots Inc.
Tom Ford International
Tommy Hilfiger Corp.
Vera Wang