NEW YORK — Over 100 beauty executives flocked to New York’s Brasserie 8 1/2 last Thursday for a breakfast honoring the winners of the first annual WWD Beauty Biz awards.

Among those on hand: L’Oréal’s Jean Paul Agon, Avon’s Andrea Jung, Estée Lauder’s William Lauder, Revlon’s Jack Stahl, Chanel’s Arie Kopelman,Procter & Gamble’s Marc Pritchard and Coty’s Bernd Beetz. In addition, a sizable California contingent flew in especially for the breakfast, including Sephora’s David Suliteanu, Physicians Formula’s Ingrid Jackel and Benefit Cosmetics’ Jean and Jane Ford. Marshall Field’s Dave Steiner came in from Chicago and Michel and Manon Coutu of Brooks Pharmacy made the trip from Rhode Island.

In total, 28 awards were given. The winners were, by award: Best Executed Launch Strategy, Prestige: Estée Lauder’s Beyond Paradise (fragrance), MAC (color cosmetics) and Clarins (skin care); Best Executed Launch Strategy, Mass: Coty’s Celine Dion (fragrance), Olay Regenerist (skin care), Mark (color cosmetics) and Garnier Fructis (hair); Retailer of the Year: Sephora USA (specialty/indie), Brooks Pharmacy (mass) and Marshall Field’s (department store); Most Innovative Marketer of the Year, Prestige: Chanel (company), Andrea Robinson of Ralph Lauren Fragrances (person); Most Innovative Marketer of the Year, Mass: Del Laboratories Inc. (company), Ingrid Jackel of Physicians Formula (person); Breakthrough Product of the Year, Prestige: Lancôme Hair Sensation (hair), Burberry Brit (fragrance), Shiseido Body Creator (skin care), Dandelion by Benefit (color cosmetics); Breakthrough Product of the Year, Mass: L’Oréal Couleur Experte (hair color), Revlon ColorStay Always On Nail Enamel (color cosmetics), Dove Hair Care with Weightless Moisturizers (hair care), L’Oréal Wrinkle De-Crease (skin care); Most Innovative Ad Campaign: Cover Girl Outlast (mass), IFF/Visionaire Project (prestige); Newcomer of the Year: Jean Paul Gaultier Tout Beau Tout Propre (product), Dlish Fragrance Inc. (company), and Supplier of the Year: Dario and Madina Ferrari of Intercos (person) and Firmenich (company).

To access this article, click here to subscribe or to log in.

To Read the Full Article

Tap into our Global Network

Of Industry Leaders and Designers

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus