By  on November 16, 2007

NEW YORK — Three up-and-coming designers just got a substantial boost.

Rogan Gregory of Rogan has received the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Award, pocketing $200,000 and a year of mentoring from an industry executive. The runners-up were Phillip Lim of 3.1 Phillip Lim and jewelry designer Philip Crangi, who each will receive $50,000, as well as business mentors.

The winners were announced Thursday at the 7th on Sale gala in the 69th Regiment Armory here, which benefited the CFDA/Vogue Initiative for HIV/AIDS. This is the fourth edition of the fund, which has grown to become a key facilitator of careers in fashion design.

The previous winners are Doo-Ri Chung, Trovata and Proenza Schouler's Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough. Runners-up include Derek Lam and Thom Browne, Rodarte's Laura and Kate Mulleavy and Thakoon Panichgul for Thakoon.

The finalists, whittled down from 101 applications, were: Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders, Erin Fetherston, Gabriel Asfour, Angela Donhauser and Adi Gil of Threeasfour, Nunthirat Koi Suwannagate of Koi, Lisa Mayock and Sophie Buhai of Vena Cava, Michael Bastian and Victoria Bartlett of VPL.

The selection committee consisted of CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg, executive director Steven Kolb and associate director Lisa Smilor; Vogue editor in chief Anna Wintour and fashion news director Sally Singer; Barneys New York vice president and fashion director Julie Gilhart; Jeffrey president Jeffrey Kalinsky; Theory president and founder Andrew Rosen; Coach president and executive creative director Reed Krakoff, and Gap executive vice president of design Patrick Robinson.

Starting this year, the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund's Business Advisory Committee will provide mentorship and support to all finalists. The committee includes Calvin Klein Inc. president and chief operating officer Tom Murry, NRDC president and chief executive officer and Lord & Taylor chairman Richard Baker, Cole Haan ceo James Seuss, Diane von Furstenberg chief financial officer Paul Aberasturi and Liz Claiborne Inc. executive vice president of partnered brands David McTague.

The fund is sponsored by Gap and underwritten by Liz Claiborne Inc., Lord & Taylor, L'Oreal Paris, Barneys New York, Coach, Juicy Couture, Kellwood Co., Nordstrom, Theory and Vogue.

An inside glimpse of the 10 finalists can be viewed on ShopVogue.TV, beginning Friday.

To continue reading this article...

To Read the Full Article

Tap into our Global Network

Of Industry Leaders and Designers

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus