By  on January 13, 1994

NEW YORK -- The Council of Fashion Designers of America awards gala is getting real this year.

Instead of the emphasis on Hollywood names and European designers that marked the past two galas, this year's event, to be held Feb. 7 at Lincoln Center's New York State Theater, will focus on what CFDA executive director Fern Mallis called "the solid majority of the fashion business, the bankable power of the industry."

"The last couple of years -- our first two at the State Theater -- were very celebrity oriented," she said. "We're thrilled about this year's show because it represents what's happening now. Last year, we had a lot of young, cutting-edge, grunge-type people. This year's winners and presenters are much more the mainstays of the industry."

While there might still be more than a touch of show business, CFDA president Stan Herman said: 'The awards this year truly represent 1993 and have evolved into a bow to some of the legends of the industry."

One of them is Calvin Klein, who, as reported, will be the first designer to receive the men's and women's awards in the same year. He'll get his Men's Wear Designer of the Year Award from his friend, entertainment mogul David Geffen, who helped his company out of financial trouble in 1992. Author Fran Lebowitz will give Klein his Women's Wear Designer of the Year Award.

Industry icons Stanley Marcus and Bill Blass are also presenters. Marcus will give Judith Leiber a Lifetime Achievement Awards, and Blass will present Eleanor Lambert, a CFDA founder, with a special tribute. Photographer Richard Avedon will present the other Lifetime Achievement Award to Polly Allen Mellen, fashion editor of Allure.

John Bartlett will receive the Perry Ellis Award for new men's fashion talent from actors Stephen Spinella and Joe Montella of "Angels in America."

Other presenters are still to be named for the Perry Ellis Award for new fashion talent in women's wear, going to Richard Tyler; the International Award for Accessories, to Prada; the Eugenia Sheppard Award, which honors members of the fashion media, to Bill Cunningham of the New York Times, and special awards to Fabien Baron, art director at Harper's Bazaar, and to the sneaker industry, a prize shared by Adidas, Converse, Keds, Nike and Reebok.

To Read the Full Article

Tap into our Global Network

Of Industry Leaders and Designers

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus