By  on March 30, 2005

NEW YORK — Marc Jacobs, Ralph Rucci for Chado Ralph Rucci and Vera Wang have been nominated for Womenswear Designer of the Year in the 2005 CFDA Fashion Awards. Diane von Furstenberg will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Norma Kamali will receive the Board of  Directors’ Special Tribute. The awards, underwritten by Swarovski, will be held June 6 at the New York Public Library. The nominations were decided upon on Tuesday at a two-and-a-half-hour ratification meeting attended by about 20 Council for Fashion Designers of America board members.Nominated for Menswear Designer of the Year were Ralph Lauren, John Bartlett and John Varvatos, while Marc Jacobs, Michael Kors, Janis Savitt for M + J Savitt and Gerard Yosca got the nods for leading accessories designer.The nominees are based on votes received from approximately 80 percent of the 452 eligible voters, who include designers, editors, retailers and stylists. Among the CFDA’s special awards, Gilles Bensimon, publication director of Elle, will receive the Eugenia Sheppard Award, and Alber Elbaz, artistic director of Lanvin, will be given the International Award. This year the CFDA decided to forgo the Fashion Icon Award, which last year went to Sarah Jessica Parker, and instead will give the Award for Fashion Influence to Kate Moss. The CFDA also decided this year to skip the Eleanor Lambert award, which in previous years had gone to a personality on the business side of fashion, such as Kal Ruttenstein, Dawn Mello and Rose Marie Bravo, and last year, in a break from tradition, honored photographer Irving Penn. “It’s not an award category the board felt strongly about [this year]. We decided to not give one and we’ll wait until there’s someone deserving,” said Peter Arnold, executive director of the CFDA.Derek Lam, Behnaz Sarafpour and Peter Som have been nominated for Swarovski’s Perry Ellis Award for ready-to-wear, which continues the underwriter’s commitment to supporting emerging American fashion designers. The nominees for Swarovski’s Perry Ellis Award for Menswear are Thom Browne, Rogan Gregory for Rogan and Alexandre Plokhov for Cloak. For Swarovski’s Perry Ellis Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Anthony Camargo and Nak Armstrong for Anthony Nak, Holly Dunlap for Hollywould and Devi Kroell. The winner in each Swarovski category will receive financial support and product from Swarovski.Arnold said this was the first year that it asked designers, retailers, editors and stylists who specialize in each category to nominate designers of the year specifically in their areas of expertise. “They’re probably more informed of what’s going on [in their particular bailiwicks],” said Arnold. “It’s a more focused voting.” In the second round of voting, the entire nominating committee can vote, he said.This year’s nominating committee will be able to vote online and view each nominee’s collection beginning April 13 at  This year the entire 26-member CFDA board of directors will serve as chairmen of the awards gala, which will be produced by KCD. Creative director Doug Lloyd will art direct the graphic presentation of the awards and accompanying journal.

To continue reading this article...

To Read the Full Article

Tap into our Global Network

Of Industry Leaders and Designers

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus