By  on August 4, 2005

NEW YORK — The Council of Fashion Designers of America and Vogue magazine have selected 10 finalists for the second annual awards from the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund. The finalists were chosen by a committee of industry representatives from a group of 65 second-round applicants.

The finalists are Anthony Nak (Nak Armstrong and Anthony Camargo); Atelier Jean Yu (Jean Yu); Costello Tagliapietra (Jeffrey Costello and Robert Tagliapietra); Derek Lam; Isabel Toledo; Lutz & Patmos (Trina Lutz and Marcia Patmos); Mayle (Jane Mayle); Project Alabama (Natalie Chanin); Thom Browne, and Trovata (John Whiteledge, Sam Shipley, Josia Lamberto-Egan and Jeff Halmos).

This month, the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Selection Committee will meet with each finalist to review their current collections and conduct interviews. The winners will be announced in November.

It is expected the award (up to $200,000) will be used to further develop the winner's business in areas such as production, sales, marketing and public relations. The fund also will offer the final award recipient managerial guidance and support for one year through its underwriters.

Last year, the winners of the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Award were Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler, who received a $200,000 cash award. Runners-up were Alexandre Plokhov of Cloak and Michael & Nicole Colovos of Habitual, whose firms received $50,000 each.

The CFDA also said Coach and Juicy Couture have become underwriters of the fund, joining Vogue, Barneys New York and Kellwood Co.

Some 131 companies initially requested applications.

The selection committee consists of Peter Arnold, executive director of the CFDA until Aug. 15, who will become president of John Varvatos; Anna Wintour, editor in chief of Vogue; Julie Gilhart, vice president, fashion director of Barneys New York; Reed Krakoff, president, executive creative director of Coach; Steve Ruzow, executive vice president and president, women's wear at Kellwood; Sally Singer, fashion news director of Vogue; Lisa Smilor, associate director, CFDA, and Vera Wang, president and chief executive officer of Vera Wang.

To access this article, click here to subscribe or to log in.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus