By  on May 3, 2013

Some 90 looks paraded down the runway Wednesday night, created by graduating Fashion Design students at the Fashion Institute of Technology for their annual end-of the-year runway show. These looks were selected from a field of 300 and spanned sportswear, special occasion, knitwear, intimate apparel and children’s wear.

While the children stole the show with their sashaying and antics on the runway, those in attendance were impressed with the professionalism of the designs.

“I thought it was great,” said Dennis Basso, who was seated in the front row. “It’s always great to see these students who are real innovative and creative. They’re so talented. I thought the lingerie was extraordinary, and I’m an eveningwear kind of guy.”

Others at the show included Tom Murry, president and chief executive officer of Calvin Klein Inc.; Rebecca Minkoff, Lisa Perry, Maggie Norris, Marcus Wainwright, Fern Mallis and Yigal Azrouël.

“Calvin Klein Inc. is pleased to underwrite such an important and inspirational show. This year’s students showed diversity and design prowess. As a brand we are proud to support FIT and their role in the future of fashion,” said Murry. The professionally produced show, dubbed “The Future of Fashion,” was supported by a $2 million gift from alumnus Calvin Klein and the company he cofounded, Calvin Klein, Inc. Klein was unable to attend this year’s show.

Nine major designers and design houses, Amsale Aberra, Maggie Norris, Lisa Perry, David Neville and Marcus Wainwright of Rag & Bone, Gary Graham, Flora Nikrooz, Tom Scott, Lars Andersson and Bonnie Young, mentored the students and selected the most exceptional garment by a student in their group with a special citation as a Critic Award winner. They are Trung Vu (Special Occasion); Elle Loow (Special Occasion); Carly Rosenbrook (Sportswear); Miguel Pena (Sportswear); Jae Lee (Sportswear); Alina Kulik (Intimate Apparel); Sijeo Kim (Knitwear); Marines Padilla (Knitwear), and Thaiana Cruz (Children’s Wear).

The designers also vied for cash awards from Cotton Incorporated, a longtime show sponsor. Three students were awarded for displaying the best use of cotton in their designs. The first place prize of $10,000 went to Tae Kyung Kim; the second place prize of $5,000 went to Jong Suk Park, and the third place prize of $2,500 went to Emily Levine.

In addition, Siempre Mujer, published by Meredith Corp., sponsored a new award for the best use of color. That award, judged by María Cristina Marrero, editor in chief of Siempre Mujer, also went to Tae Kyung Kim and came with a $2,500 cash prize and a feature in the August/September issue of Siempre Mujer.

To continue reading this article...

To Read the Full Article

Tap into our Global Network

Of Industry Leaders and Designers

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus