By  on July 20, 2005

NEW YORK — The Council of Fashion Designers of America has accepted 12 new members who represent the future. The group increases total membership to 276.

They are women's wear designers Derek Lam, Doo-Ri Chung of Doo.Ri, Gela Nash-Taylor and Pamela Skaist-Levy of Juicy Couture, Carlos Miele and Nicole and Michael Colovos of Habitual; accessories designers Alexis Bittar and Rod Keenan, and men's wear designers Italo Zucchelli of Calvin Klein Collection, Alexandre Plokhov of Cloak and Thom Browne.

"It's one of the most diversified and yet on-target groups," said CFDA president Stan Herman. "For me, they represent the best of what's being produced in fashion today. These people are really very close to being at the top of their game already. They are all at the cutting edge, and have established businesses, and that's a wonderful combination."

Each new member went through the application process, which is open to American designers worldwide and international designers based here. Membership is by invitation, and designers are asked to submit a résumé, a portfolio and other relevant work, as well as recommendations from two active CFDA members in their field. The CFDA Admissions Committee then recommends candidates who have to be approved by the board.

Several of the new members have been recognized by the CFDA in the past few months. Lam won Swarovski's Perry Ellis award for women's wear last month and was a 2004 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund finalist. Chung was also a finalist for the fund last year, while Habitual and Cloak were runners-up. Cloak, meanwhile, won Swarovski's Perry Ellis Award for men's wear this year, for which Browne also had been nominated.

The CFDA and its board will celebrate the new entries with a cocktail reception at Vera Wang's home here on Aug. 23.

To access this article, click here to subscribe or to log in.

To Read the Full Article

Tap into our Global Network

Of Industry Leaders and Designers

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus