Franca Sozzani


Fashion exponents are paying tribute on Instagram to the legendary editor in chief of Vogue Italia Franca Sozzani, who passed away in Milan on Thursday at the age of 66. Designers such as Donatella Versace, Riccardo Tisci, Anthony Vaccarello, Giambattista Valli and Marco de Vincenzo, among others, shared pictures and memories on the social media.

Givenchy’s Tisci posted an Instagram saying: “I am heartbroken about my dear friend @francasozzani1 gone too soon. My heart is with all of your loved ones. Today would have been our usual Christmas dinner, where you would be the most beautiful and funny host. Your spirit, your kindness and gentle soul will be missed in this world forever. My dear friend Franca, you were one of my very first supporters and I honor your memory today and every day to come, you will always stay in my heart, as I am sure you will stay in the one of everyone who really knew you. How lucky they are, to have you in heaven. Love you @francasozzani1 and may you rest in peace.”

Valli echoed the sentiment. “I will miss you my favorite blonde princess; I will miss you as the beautiful human being, as an inspiration and the precious friend you are, now you left us for a new adventure…bon voyage,” he said.

Ciao Franca, my dearest friend. You will be in my heart forever.

A post shared by Donatella Versace (@donatella_versace) on

Franca

A post shared by Anthony Vaccarello (@anthonyvaccarello) on

Grazie di tutto.

A post shared by Marco de Vincenzo (@marcodevincenzo) on

ADDIO FRANCA SARAI SEMPRE NEL MIO CUORE RIP💔

A post shared by Alessandro Dell Acqua (@alessandrodellacqua) on

Franca, we will always remember you !!! @francescocarrozzini RIP

A post shared by Privategg (@giancarlogiammetti) on

Fantastic Franca by me and @terryrichardson for @industriemag

Un post condiviso da Katie Eleanor Grand (@kegrand) in data:

Deeply saddened by the loss

A post shared by Neil Barrett (@neilbarrett) on

 

Dear Franca you will always be in my heart. Valentino

A post shared by Valentino Garavani (@realmrvalentino) on

 

Ciao Franca, sarai sempre con me. Pierpaolo

A post shared by Valentino (@maisonvalentino) on

 

 

A post shared by Prada (@prada) on

 

 

 

 

 

You will be deeply missed @francasozzani1

A post shared by Moschino (@moschino) on

 

 

Our thoughts go to beloved Franca. You will be greatly missed.

A post shared by Marni (@marni) on

 

A post shared by Miu Miu (@miumiu) on

 

 

Ciao Franca ❤

Un post condiviso da Roberto Cavalli Official (@roberto_cavalli) in data:

 

 

 

 

Ciao Franca, you were always there in the key moments. I will never forget. With love. RIP #francasozzani

A post shared by Renzo Rosso (@renzorosso) on

 

 

 

 

 

Au revoir FRANCA! You are a True fashion icon, a legend already 🙏

A post shared by Carine Roitfeld (@carineroitfeld) on

 

ALL MY LOVE IS WITH YOU… ON YOUR WAY

Un post condiviso da Peter Lindbergh (@therealpeterlindbergh) in data:

 

 

 

#MYANGEL #FRANCA #ILOVEYOU ALWAYS AND FOREVER 🙏🏾❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤😪😪😪😪😪

A post shared by Naomi Campbell (@iamnaomicampbell) on

 

 

I have too many memories to mention here right now about Franca but this is one of my favorite covers of my career (minus the cigarette) shot by Steven Meisel for Italian Vogue. I was a free agent again after my first contract with Calvin Klein and Franca welcomed me back with open arms and my career as a model was reborn. I was in Rome a few weeks ago and stopped by to visit Pierpaolo Piccioli at Valentino and he passed the phone to me to say hello to an old friend. It was Franca Sozzani. Her voice was as legendary as her eyes, face and character. We said we'd see eachother in NYC soon. It had been too long…Grazie Franca for many, many years of a long distance friendship. What true grace and beauty you personified. 💙

A post shared by Christy Turlington Burns (@cturlington) on

 

Franca Sozzani : A true fashion leader and an inspiration to me. Rest in Peace x

A post shared by Claudia Schiffer (@claudiaschiffer) on

 

My high fashion mama. Will love you forever. #FrancaSozzani

A post shared by Tyra Banks (@tyrabanks) on

 

RIP beautiful, incredible, talented Franca Sozzani💔👑😔Speechless..

A post shared by Bella Hadid (@bellahadid) on

 

 

 

 

 

Iconic #rip #francasozzani 💔🙏🏻

A post shared by Alessandra Ambrosio (@alessandraambrosio) on

 

 

 

#rip dearest #francasozzani , you are in our hearts forever ! Our thoughts are with you @francescocarrozzini . Kisses iv

A post shared by Inezandvinoodh (@inezandvinoodh) on

 

U will be missed dear Franca Sozzani RIP

A post shared by 🆖 (@nicolasghesquiere) on

 

 

❤FRANCA

A post shared by Alessandro Michele (@lallo25) on

 

FRANCA ❤️

Un post condiviso da DSQUARED2 – Dan & Dean Caten (@dsquared2) in data:

 

 

Ci mancherai… E grazie grazie grazie ❤️

A post shared by Massimo Giorgetti (@massimogiorgetti) on

 

💔

A post shared by Remo Ruffini (@remoruffini) on

 

 

 

 

 

Franca.

A post shared by Emmanuelle Alt Official (@emmanuellealt) on

 

 

 

Your brilliance has left its mark in fashion and our hearts. RIP Franca

Un post condiviso da ELIE SAAB (@eliesaabworld) in data:

 

A great loss to the fashion world. So sad, so sorry. #francasozzani 💔 photo by Peter Lindbergh.

A post shared by Zac Posen (@zacposen) on

 

Thank you for the years of friendship, love, support, and endless inspiration. You will be dearly missed. J+L

A post shared by Proenza Schouler (@proenzaschouler) on

 

 

RIP Franca Sozzani. She was really my favorite editor in fashion and her work shaped my view on fashion and photography.

A post shared by Scott Schuman (@thesartorialist) on

 

So much respect for an icon that made such a revolution in the fashion industry. You're gonna be missed.

Un post condiviso da Chiara Ferragni (@chiaraferragni) in data:

 

 

 

❤️

A post shared by Alexa (@alexachung) on

 

 

Un post condiviso da Vogue Italia (@vogueitalia) in data:

 

 

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus