Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund to Hold Dinner

George Feldenkreis, Tamara Mellon and Lana Cain Krauter will be honored at the dinner in January.

SCHOLARLY NIGHT: Perry Ellis’ George Feldenkreis, Tamara Mellon and Lana Cain Krauter will be honored Jan. 8 at the YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria hotel in Manhattan. Held in conjunction with the Geoffrey Beene Foundation, the event is expected to attract more than 1,000 and will be hosted by Bergdorf Goodman’s Linda Fargo.

Feldenkreis will take home the Lifetime Achievement award; Mellon will pick up the Fashion Innovator award, and Krauter, who recently retired from Sears Holdings Corp., will take home the AMY award.

This story first appeared in the December 16, 2013 issue of WWD.  Subscribe Today.

The trio won’t be the night’s only winners — YMA FSF scholarships will be handed out to 131 students from 46 schools across the country. Each applicant submitted essays, offered creative presentations and were interviewed by industry executives. Four students will be awarded a $30,000 Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship, four other will receive a $10,000 Geoffrey Beene runner-up scholarship and all 131 students will obtain $5,000 scholarships.

load comments


Sign in using your Facebook or Twitter account, or simply type your comment below as a guest by entering your email and name. Your email address will not be shared. Please note that WWD reserves the right to remove profane, distasteful or otherwise inappropriate language.
blog comments powered by Disqus