By  on July 2, 2008

PARIS — Woolmark, the familiar ball-of-wool certification symbol for Australian merino wool, is in for a facelift, namely with the resurrection of the brand's historic Wool Secretariat Award program, now named the Australian Merino Woolmark Prize.

The prize, which famously springboarded the careers of then-young designers Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent in 1954, will be awarded at the Palais de Tokyo here Thursday at an event cohosted by Sonia Rykiel and Australia Wool Innovation. Choosing from 10 knitwear finalists — who include America's Tom Scott, France's Xavier Brisoux and Britain's Louise Goldin — the winner will receive AWI funding and will be carried in Paris fashion boutique Colette.

To Read the Full Article

Tap into our Global Network

Of Industry Leaders and Designers

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus