Skip to main content

Power and Glamour Lead Beauty Inc Awards

Leslie H. Wexner, founder, chairman and chief executive officer of L Brands Inc., was honored with the Visionary Award.

Glowing and full of energy, a pregnant Drew Barrymore came to the 12th annual WWD Beauty Inc Awards breakfast Wednesday at the Four Seasons in New York City with her husband in tow, ready to celebrate two exciting announcements: her award for color cosmetics brand Flower and the gender of her baby girl, which was revealed post-event.

“Work harder,” said Barrymore when asked what winning the award meant to her. “This means something incredibly positive along the way. You’re never done, but to think that you’re doing something positive and moving in the right direction is everything to make you work harder.”

Another star this morning was Leslie H. Wexner, founder, chairman and chief executive officer of L Brands Inc., who was honored with the Visionary Award.

Related Galleries

“Being biggest doesn’t mean best,” said Wexner when reciting his acceptance speech.

You May Also Like

In a room packed with beauty’s key power players, among the attendees were Leonard A. Lauder, chairman emeritus of the Estée Lauder Cos. Inc.; Frédéric Rozé, president and ceo of L’Oréal USA; John Demsey, group president of the Estée Lauder Cos.; Karen Fondu, president of L’Oréal Paris; Carol Hamilton, president of L’Oréal Luxe USA; Michele Scannavini, ceo of Coty Inc.; Heidi Manheimer, ceo of Shiseido America; David Greenberg, president of Maybelline New York-Garnier-Essie, and Jane Hertzmark Hudis, global brand president of the Estée Lauder Cos.

Also in attendance were Stefan Selig, executive vice chairman of global corporate and investment banking at Bank of America; Julia Goldin, global chief marketing officer of Revlon; David Neville of Rag & Bone, husband of Gucci Westman, and Arie Kopelman, retired president and chief operating officer of Chanel Inc.

There also was a contingent of retailers, including Muriel Gonzalez, executive vice president and general merchandise manager for cosmetics and fragrances at Macy’s; Bettina O’Neill, vice president and merchandise manager at Barneys New York; Cathy Masson, vice president of category management beat at Shoppers Drug Mart, and Pat Dean, senior vice president of category management and corporate brands at Shoppers Drug Mart.


Product of the Year, Mass: CoverGirl Clump Crusher by Lashblast Mascara (color cosmetics), L’Oréal Paris Age Perfect Glow Renewal Facial Oil (skin), Infiniti Pro by Conair Curl Secret (hair), Sonia Kashuk Bath & Body (fragrance).

Product of the Year, Prestige:
Giorgio Armani Rouge Ecstasy CC Lipstick (color cosmetics), Ibuki by Shiseido (skin), Color Wow Root Cover Up (hair), Modern Muse by Estée Lauder (fragrance).

Brand of the Year: NYX Cosmetics (mass), Chanel (prestige).

Newcomer of the Year: Flower (mass), Ardency Inn (prestige).

Retailer of the Year: Shoppers Drug Mart (mass), Macy’s Herald Square (prestige), Barneys New York (specialty).

Launch of the Year: L’Oréal Paris Advanced Haircare (mass), Marc Jacobs Beauty (prestige).

Ad Campaign of the Year: Dove Real Beauty Sketches.

Marketer of the Year: Carolyn Holba, senior vice president, marketing, Maybelline New York-Garnier-Essie (mass); Veronique Gabai-Pinsky, global brand president, Aramis and Designer Fragrances (prestige).

Corporate Social Responsibility Award: Coty Inc.

Digital Innovator of the Year: Dermablend Professional, EM Michelle Phan (prestige)

Creative Influencer of the Year: Gucci Westman

Visionary award: Leslie H. Wexner