Skip to main content

Perfumed Plume Awards to Honor Fragrance Journalism

Lyn Leigh and Mary Ellen Lapsansky, formerly of The Fragrance Foundation, together created The Perfumed Plume Awards for fragrance journalism.

Two fragrance-industry veterans are establishing a new award for fragrance journalism.

Lyn Leigh and Mary Ellen Lapsansky, formerly of The Fragrance Foundation, together created The Perfumed Plume Awards for fragrance journalism. The award is intended to honor stories that enlighten, engage and educate consumers on the art and craft of fragrance.

Lapsansky explains the genesis: “Our goal is to establish an all-inclusive awards program in the U.S. that specifically targets the many talented writers and visualists who bring to life for the general public the craft, the inspiration, the emotion and the sensory journey that is at the heart of fragrance creation,” Lapsansky said. “The Perfumed Plume Awards will encompass all channels of consumer communication.”

“The Perfumed Plume Awards is a great call to action for creative writing for our wonderful industry,” said Westly Morris, senior vice president of fine fragrance at Mane, the awards’ founding sponsor. “One art form writing about another art form — an inspiring blend.”

“As a [public relations] practitioner, my fragrance clients always want to see more meaningful, enlightening and personal fragrance stories,” Leigh said. “The Perfumed Plume will become a symbol of media excellence and help drive awareness and appreciation of the fragrance category in U.S. retail.”

You May Also Like

The initial competition will include five categories, all for U.S. publications between January and December 2015; the deadline for entries is Dec. 11. The categories are scent stories in mainstream media, magazines (print or digital); scent stories in mainstream media — newspapers (print or digital); blog postings; visualization of scent stories, i.e. overall design presentation (print or digital), and science of scent stories in mainstream media (magazines, newspapers and blog postings). The committee may also add an award category for fragrance books. Winners will each receive a check for $1,000 and an award presented during the first Perfumed Plume Awards ceremony in spring 2016.

The consulting committee for the awards includes Virginia Bonofiglio, chairman of cosmetics and fragrance marketing for the Fashion Institute of Technology; Henry de Monclin, vice president of creative and development for Perfumania, Inc.;
 Jeb Gleason-Allured, editor in chief of Perfumer & Flavorist Magazine/GCI Magazine; Miranda Gordon, vice president of marketing and evaluation of fine fragrance at Mane; Lisa Lori, owner, The Perfect Provenance; Mary Manning, managing partner at Silk Route Strategies LLC;
 Raymond Matts, chief executive officer of creative design at Raymond Matts: Perfume Designer; Bettina O’Neill, vice president and divisional merchandise manager of cosmetics and fragrances for Barneys New York; Lyle Saunders, creative consultant; 
and Ruth Sutcliffe, marketing consultant and fragrance designer at Ruth Sutcliffe Consulting.