Skip to main content

Accademia del Profumo Honors Annual Award Winners

Giorgio Armani’s Sì Passione and Dior Sauvage Eau de Parfum scooped the prizes for best fragrances of the year.

MILAN — Accademia del Profumo, the Italian association of cosmetics companies promoting the history of perfume, culture and art, named its annual award winners here on Tuesday. Held at the city’s Bourse building Palazzo Mezzanotte, the 30th edition of the gala ceremony gathered about 170 industry insiders to celebrate the best scents launched in 2018.

Giorgio Armani’s Sì Passione and Dior Sauvage Eau de Parfum were named best fragrances of the year in the women’s and men’s categories, respectively, as a result of the votes of consumers. Altogether, more than 150,000 votes were registered and cast through the contest’s dedicated web site, the association’s Facebook page and at about 1,000 perfumeries in Italy.

A technical jury, comprising beauty editors and retailers, assigned prizes in five other categories. Tiffany & Co. Eau de Parfum Intense and Tom Ford Ombré Leather were awarded best olfactory creations; Nomade Chloé and Yves Saint Laurent’s Y Eau de Parfum were recognized for their packaging, while Acqua di Parma won both prizes dedicated to Made in Italy scents thanks to its women’s Chinotto di Liguria — Blu Mediterraneo fragrance and men’s Colonia Sandalo — Ingredient Collection perfume.

Related Galleries

Awards for the niche category went to the Rinascimento scent of Salvatore Ferragamo’s Tuscan Creations line and to Clive Christian Noble Collection XX Art Nouveau Papyrus, chosen as best fragrances by a renowned brand and in artistic perfumery, respectively.

You May Also Like

Givenchy’s L’Interdit, whose advertising campaign is fronted by Rooney Mara, and Paco Rabanne’s Pure XS were also recognized for best communication in the women’s and men’s categories, respectively. These awards were bestowed by a VIP jury, which included local TV hosts, athletes and artists.

Accademia del Profumo additionally assigned a special prize to François Demachy, the nose behind the Joy by Dior fragrance, as his creation achieved the best sales results in the first six months after the launch on the Italian market.

Although Demachy was not present to receive the award, the ceremony drew a range of top-tier perfumers — including Alberto Morillas, Dominique Ropion, Daniela Andrier, Sonia Constant, Emilie Coppermann and Luca Maffei — who took the stage at the end of the gala to take a souvenir group picture.