NEW YORK – The YMA Scholarship Fund has chosen eight finalists for its 2019 scholarships. The finalists were selected from almost 750 applicants who attend one of the YMA Scholarship Fund’s 64 member colleges and universities.

The finalists – and more than 200 scholarship recipients – will be celebrated at the group’s 82nd annual Scholarship Awards Gala that will be held on Jan. 10 at the New York Hilton Midtown. The event will honor Hal Lawton, president of Macy’s; Ryan Seacrest, and Martha Stewart.

The eight students are Maxine Britt of the University of Minnesota, Jeremy Klateux of the University of Georgia, and Isabella Mendez of Savannah College of Art and Design, all of whom are studying design and product development; Rachel Davis from the University of Cincinnati, Jennifer Junker, Iowa State University, and Sydney Silver, Academy of Art University, who are all studying merchandising and marketing, and Viviana Martinez, and Javier Uriegas from the University of Texas at Austin, who are studying technology and analytics and supply chain management, respectively.

The students will receive more than $1 million in scholarships ranging from $15,000 to $35,000 each.

“I am so impressed by the caliber and accomplishments of our scholarship winners from across the country,” said Peter Arnold, the fund’s executive director. “It’s a privilege for our organization to support these incredible students as they launch their careers in the fashion world, not only through scholarship awards, but also through our internship opportunities, mentorship, and our dynamic alumni network that includes the best in the industry.”