Cindi Leive at Glamour's Women of the Year event in 2015.

Glamour’s marquee event, Women of the Year, has found itself a new home.

The event, which will include a summit and awards show, will take place at NeueHouse Hollywood, a private work collective for creative entrepreneurs, on Nov. 14. WWD previously reported on the expansion of Women of the Year and its move to Los Angeles, following a 25-year run in New York, where the awards show took place at Carnegie Hall.

This year, Women of the Year, or WOTY, will  include a day of programming, called “The Women of the Year Live Summit,” in which young women will hear from past and present honorees as well as from other influential women from a variety of fields. For those unable to make the trek, the event will be live-streamed for the first time via Facebook Live.

The expansion of the WOTY is part of a larger effort at Glamour parent Condé Nast to grow new streams of revenue for its various titles. For Glamour, the event presents an opportunity to grab more advertising dollars, for instance.

Case in point: While L’Oréal Paris returns as the title sponsor of the awards for the 15th consecutive year, Glamour has signed on additional sponsors including Aerie, Barbie, Barneys New York, Caterpillar Foundation, Clare V., Dyson, eBay, Everything But The House, Getty Images, Intel, Kim Crawford Wines, Rebecca Minkoff, SoulCycle, StubHub and W Hollywood Hotel.

Glamour editor in chief Cindi Leive  said of adding the programming: “Now our audience will be able to hear more extensively from our winners — and millions of women can experience their message through the live-stream as well. Our mission is to support women in determining the course of their own lives, and Women of the Year Live will help them do just that.”

According to Glamour, Women of the Year Live will also support its philanthropic initiative The Girl Project, which launched in 2014 and currently supports the secondary-school education of girls in 95 countries around the world.

Past Women of the Year honorees include Malala Yousafzai, Secretary Hillary Clinton, Caitlyn Jenner, Lupita Nyong’o, Lady Gaga, Reese Witherspoon, Shonda Rhimes, Gloria Steinem and Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. Past presenters have included Oprah Winfrey, President Bill Clinton, Bruce Willis, Viola Davis and Natalie Portman.

This year’s honorees will be revealed later this fall.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus