SHUTOUT FOR THE JOURNAL: In the six years Rupert Murdoch’s owned it, The Wall Street Journal has changed a great deal — some would argue for the best, others for the worst. But the one group that appears to still be unmoved by Murdoch’s Journal is the Pulitzer board. It has not awarded the paper a single prize for its reporting since 2007, the year Murdoch bought the Journal, choosing instead to commend its editorial page, most recently in 2011.

The snub continued Monday when Pulitzer Prizes went to The New York Times and a handful of regional papers that excelled at covering local stories of national importance. The board’s love affair with the Journal’s op-ed page continued too, as the columnist Bret Stephens won a prize in the category of commentary.

This story first appeared in the April 16, 2013 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

This year, the Journal’s shutout was even more pronounced as the paper failed to earn any second-place finalists in any categories. In 2007, the Journal won two Pulitzers, including in the coveted public service category.

The Journal did not make managing editor Gerard Baker available to comment on the Pulitzers. Editorial board editor Paul Gigot said, via a spokeswoman, he was “delighted” by the acknowledgement of Stephens’ columns. The Times picked up four prizes, two more than last year, in the categories of investigative, international and explanatory reporting. It also won a prize in feature writing for a story on a deadly avalanche by reporter John Branch that had already earned the Times acclaim for its innovative presentation online, involving a number of multimedia features.

Executive editor Jill Abramson gave a quick speech describing “the wonderful bounty of prizes” as a tribute to the newsroom and thanking publisher Arthur Sulzberger Jr.

Among the regional papers receiving prizes were the Denver Post, for its coverage of the Aurora shooting, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune, for a series on infant deaths at licensed day-care centers. Booksellers will be relieved to hear there was at least a winner, unlike last year, in the fiction category, “The Orphan Master’s Son,” by Adam Johnson.