Time Inc. has put together its board of directors as it prepares to spin off from parent company Time Warner in the second quarter of this year.

According to the publishing division, chief executive officer Joe Ripp will become chairman of its board, and will lead nine other members. The other board members include David Bell, chairman and ceo of Slipstream Communications LLC; non-executive chairman and former ceo of the National Geographic Society John Fahey; former executive chairman of Sysco Corp. Manuel Fernandez; chairman of the Robert R. McCormick Foundation Dennis Fitzsimmons; senior adviser of McKinsey & Co. Betsy Holden; chairman and ceo of Koplovitz & Co. LLC Kay Koplovitz; ceo and managing partner of Windham Mountain Partners J. Randall MacDonald; former partner in Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP’s litigation practice Ronald Rolfe, and former chairman, president and ceo of Sony Corp. Sir Howard Stringer.

Time Warner’s chairman and ceo Jeff Bewkes said of the board: “These are highly respected executives known for their leadership, integrity, entrepreneurial drive, and deep strategic, operational and technical expertise. Collectively, they provide a wealth of experience in publishing, electronic media, advertising, consumer-facing businesses, and technology that is vital for Time Inc.’s future. As we seek to increase shareholder value for the new Time Inc., I am confident this board will provide sound independent judgment and guidance to the management team as it works to build and grow the business.”

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus