View Slideshow

Well, no surprises there. “American Crime Story: The Assassination of Gianni Versace,” “A Star is Born,” “Vice” and “The Favourite” were the top titles receiving nods from the Hollywood Foreign Press Association on Thursday morning as nominations for the 76th Golden Globe Awards were doled out in Beverly Hills. Many of the actors singled out were already in the mix at September’s Emmy Awards – Rachel Brosnahan, Thandie Newton, Penelope Cruz – but the rash of fall films now in awards season contention added some new blood to the roster, such as Emma Stone, Rachel Weisz and Olivia Colman for the court drama “The Favourite,” and of course, Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper for “A Star is Born.”

Designers know the drill well by now, as do fashion houses, who have been jockeying for pole position with nominees and attendees since the film festivals began in the fall. Indeed, it will be a nonstop sprint to the red carpet as the awards show falls on Jan. 6 this year, less than a week after the holidays and less than two months until the Academy Awards on Feb. 24. Which runway finale gowns will be adapted for the red carpet? Who will don the latest couture creation? These questions loom as large as who will take home the trophies at the Sandra Oh and Andy Samberg-hosted show, which will be broadcast live at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET on NBC.


Best Film Drama Actor
Bradley Cooper (“A Star is Born”)
Willem Dafoe (“At Eternity’s Gate”)
Lucas Hedges (“Boy Erased”)
Rami Malek (“Bohemian Rhapsody”)
John David Washington (BlacKKKlansman”)

Best Film Drama Actress
Glenn Close (“The Wife”)
Lady Gaga (“A Star is Born”)
Nicole Kidman (“Destroyer”)
Melissa McCarthy (“Can You Ever Forgive Me?”)
Rosamund Pike (“A Quiet War”)

Best Film Comedy/Musical Actor
Christian Bale (“Vice”)
Lin-Manuel Miranda (“Mary Poppins Returns”)
Viggo Mortensen (“Green Book”)
Robert Redford (“The Old Man & The Gun”)
John C. Reilly (“Stan & Ollie”)

Best Film Comedy/Musical Actress
Emily Blunt (“Mary Poppins Returns”)
Olivia Colman (“The Favorite”)
Elsie Fisher (“Eighth Grade”)
Charlize Theron (“Tully”)
Constance Wu (“Crazy Rich Asians”)

Best Film Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali (“Green Book”)
Timothy Chalamet (“Beautiful Boy”)
Adam Driver (BlacKKKlansman”)
Richard E. Grant (“Can You Ever Forgive Me?”)
Sam Rockwell (“Vice”)

Best Film Supporting Actress
Amy Adams (“Vice”)
Claire Foy (“First Man”)
Regina King (“If Beale St Could Talk”)
Emma Stone (“The Favourite”)
Rachel Weisz (“The Favourite”)


Best TV Comedy Actor
Sacha Baron Cohen (“Who Is America”)
Jim Carrey (“Kidding”)
Michael Douglas (“The Kominsky Method”)
Donald Glover (“Atlanta”)
Bill Hader (“Barry”)

Best TV Comedy Actress
Kristen Bell (“A Good Place”)
Candice Bergen (“Murphy Brown”)
Alison Brie (“GLOW”)
Rachel Brosnahan (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Debra Messing (“Will & Grace”)

Best TV Drama Actor
Jason Bateman (“Ozark”)
Stephan James (“Homecoming”)
Richard Madden (“Bodyguard”)
Billy Porter (Pose”)
Matthew Rhys (“The Americans”)

Best TV Drama Actress
Caitriona Balfe (“Outlander”)
Elisabeth Moss (“The Handmaid’s Tale”)
Sandra Oh (“Killing Eve”)
Julia Roberts (“Homecoming”)
Keri Russell (“The Americans”)

Best TV Movie/Limited Series Actor
Antonia Banderas (“Genius”)
Daniel Brul (“The Alienist”)
Darren Criss (“Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story”)
Benedict Cumberbatch (“Patrick Melrose”)
Hugh Grant (“A Very English Scandal”)

Best TV Movie/Limited Series Actress
Amy Adams (“Sharp Objects”)
Patricia Arquette (“Escape at Dannemora”)
Connie Britton (“Dirty John”)
Laura Dern (“The Tale”)
Regina King (“Seven Seconds”)

Best TV Supporting Actor
Alan Arkin (“The Kominsky Method”)
Kieran Culkin (“Succession”)
Edgar Ramirez (“Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story”)
Ben Whishaw (“A Very English Scandal”)
Henry Winkler (“Barry”)

Best TV Supporting Actress
Alex Bornstein (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)
Patricia Clarkson (“Sharp Objects”)
Penelope Cruz (“Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story”)
Thandie Newton (“Westworld”)
Yvonne Strahovski (“The Handmaid’s Tale”)