As the clock inched closer to midnight on Election Day, what started as a celebratory gathering at Cipriani Downtown in Manhattan quickly took a somber turn. Robert De Niro, Harvey Weinstein, and Jay Penske (owner of PMC, parent of WWD) were throwing an election night viewing party that drew an impressive list of their collective contacts: Paul McCartney, Naomi Campbell, Martha Hunt, Martha Stewart. Even Rihanna reportedly stopped by, shortly before the crowd uptown at the Javits Center was told to head home. There would be no celebration for Democratic nominee Hillary Clinton.

Miles Teller, girlfriend Keleigh Sperry and Matthew Morrison set up by the ground floor window after dinner, while Darren Aronofsky and Paul Haggis camped out at a table in the middle of the dining room. All eyes in the room were fixed on the multiple TV screens turned to a newscast announcing the electoral results. “The Beyoncé concert didn’t do the trick, I guess,” remarked one guest as Ohio was called in Trump’s favor, followed by a collective boo when Florida also took a decided turn to the right. The somber atmosphere in the room was occasionally cut with cheers for Hillary’s victories as her supporters clung on to dwindling optimism.

Outside, the scent of marijuana lingered on West Broadway as one man openly smoked a joint on the adjacent storefront stoop — celebration, perhaps, of the legalization of recreational cannabis use in California, Nevada and Massachusetts. Inside Cipriani Downtown, the crowd was struggling to find the silver lining. Haggis offered a potential candidate to the room: “On the bright side, ‘SNL’ is going to be really good for the next four years,” he said.

More from
Celebrities and Fashion Personalities React to the U.S. Election >>
Hillary Clinton Wears Ralph Lauren Pantsuit for Concession Speech at The New Yorker Hotel >>
Day One: Industry Weighs In on New President’s Top Priority >>
Donald Trump Suits, Shirts and Ties, Being Sold at Deep Discounts Online >>
Wall Street Adjusts to the Idea of a Donald Trump Presidency >>