View Slideshow

LOS ANGELES — Nominations for the 64th Primetime Emmy Awards were announced Thursday, setting off a race to the red carpet. Those honored, such as Claire Danes, Julianna Margulies, Sofía Vergara and Tina Fey, are familiar names on the ballot. Others, such as Lena Dunham and Zooey Deschanel, are first-time nominees. Those honored for television movie and guest roles include Uma Thurman, Julianne Moore and Nicole Kidman. The awards show, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, will be telecast live, Sept. 23 at 8 p.m. EST on ABC.


Lead in a Drama Series

Kathy Bates, “Harry’s Law” NBC

Glenn Close, “Damages” DirecTV

Claire Danes, “Homeland” Showtime

Michelle Dockery, “Downton Abbey” PBS

Julianna Margulies, “The Good Wife” CBS

Elisabeth Moss, “Mad Men” AMC

Lead in a Comedy Series

Zooey Deschanel, “New Girl” FOX

Lena Dunham, “Girls” HBO

Edie Falco, “Nurse Jackie” Showtime

Tina Fey, “30 Rock” NBC

Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep” HBO

Melissa McCarthy, “Mike & Molly” CBS

Amy Poehler, “Parks and Recreation” NBC

Lead in a Made-for-TV Movie/Miniseries

Julianne Moore, “Game Change” HBO

Connie Britton, “American Horror Story” FX Networks

Nicole Kidman, “Hemingway & Gellhorn” HBO

Emma Thompson, “The Song of Lunch” PBS

Ashley Judd, “Missing” ABC

Supporting Actress,  Drama

Archie Panjabi, “The Good Wife” CBS

Anna Gunn, “Breaking Bad” AMC

Maggie Smith, “Downton Abbey” PBS

Joanne Froggatt, “Downton Abbey” PBS

Christina Hendricks, “Mad Men” AMC

Christine Baranski, “The Good Wife” CBS

Supporting Actress, Comedy

Mayim Bialik, “The Big Bang Theory” CBS

Merritt Wever, “Nurse Jackie” Showtime

Julie Bowen, “Modern Family” ABC

Kristen Wiig, “Saturday Night Live” NBC

Sofía Vergara, “Modern Family” ABC

Kathryn Joosten, “Desperate Housewives” ABC

Supporting Actress, Miniseries or Movie

Sarah Paulson, “Game Change” HBO

Frances Conroy, “American Horror Story” FX Networks

Jessica Lange, “American Horror Story” FX Networks

Judy Davis, “Page Eight” PBS

Mare Winningham, “Hatfields & McCoys” History
Guest Actress, Drama

Martha Plimpton, “The Good Wife” CBS

Loretta Devine, “Grey’s Anatomy” ABC

Jean Smart, “Harry’s Law” NBC

Julia Ormond, “Mad Men” AMC

Joan Cusack, “Shameless” Showtime

Uma Thurman, “Smash” NBC

Guest Actress, Comedy

Dot-Marie Jones, “Glee” FOX

Maya Rudolph, “Saturday Night Live” NBC

Melissa McCarthy, “Saturday Night Live” NBC

Elizabeth Banks, “30 Rock” NBC

Margaret Cho, “30 Rock” NBC

Kathy Bates, “Two and a Half Men” CBS

NEXT: The Best Actor Nominees >>


Lead in a Drama Series

Hugh Bonneville, “Downton Abbey” PBS

Steve Buscemi, “Boardwalk Empire” HBO

Bryan Cranston, “Breaking Bad” AMC

Michael C. Hall, “Dexter” Showtime

Jon Hamm, “Mad Men” AMC

Damian Lewis, “Homeland” Showtime

Lead in a Comedy Series

Alec Baldwin, “30 Rock” NBC

Don Cheadle, “House of Lies” Showtime

Louis C.K., “Louie” FX Networks

Jon Cryer, “Two and a Half Men” CBS

Larry David, “Curb Your Enthusiasm” HBO

Jim Parsons, “The Big Bang Theory” CBS

Lead in a Made for TV Movie/Miniseries

Woody Harrelson, “Game Change” HBO

Clive Owen, “Hemingway & Gellhorn” HBO

Benedict Cumberbatch, “Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia” PBS

Idris Elba, “Luther” BBC America

Kevin Costner, “Hatfields & McCoys” History

Bill Paxton, “Hatfields & McCoys” History

Supporting Actor, Drama

Aaron Paul, “Breaking Bad” AMC

Giancarlo Esposito, “Breaking Bad” AMC

Brendan Coyle, “Downton Abbey” PBS

Jim Carter, “Downton Abbey” PBS

Jared Harris, “Mad Men” AMC

Peter Dinklage, “Game of Thrones” HBO

Supporting Actor, Comedy

Ed O’Neill, “Modern Family” ABC

Jesse Tyler Ferguson, “Modern Family” ABC

Ty Burrell, “Modern Family” ABC

Eric Stonestreet, “Modern Family” ABC

Bill Hader, “Saturday Night Live” NBC

Max Greenfield, “New Girl” FOX

Supporting Actor, Miniseries or Movie

Ed Harris, “Game Change” HBO

Denis O’Hare, “American Horror Story” FX Networks

David Strathairn, “Hemingway & Gellhorn” HBO

Martin Freeman, “Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia” PBS

Tom Berenger, “Hatfields & McCoys” History

Guest Actor, Drama

Mark Margolis, “Breaking Bad” AMC

Dylan Baker, “The Good Wife” CBS

Michael J. Fox, “The Good Wife” CBS

Jeremy Davies, “Justified” FX Networks

Ben Feldman, “Mad Men” AMC

Jason Ritter, “Parenthood” NBC

Guest Actor,  Comedy

Michael J. Fox, “Curb Your Enthusiasm” HBO

Greg Kinnear, “Modern Family” ABC

Bobby Cannavale, “Nurse Jackie” Showtime

Jimmy Fallon, “Saturday Night Live” NBC

Will Arnett, “30 Rock” NBC

Jon Hamm, “30 Rock” NBC


NEXT: The Costume Design Nominees >>



“Boardwalk Empire” HBO John Dunn

“The Borgias” Showtime Gabriella Pescucci

“Downton Abbey” PBS Susannah Buxton

“Game Of Thrones” HBO Michele Clapton

“Once Upon A Time” ABC Eduardo Castro
Miniseries, Movie Or A Special

“American Horror Story” FX Networks Chrisi Karvonides

“Great Expectations” PBS Annie Symons

“Hatfields & McCoys” History Karri Hutchinson

“Hemingway & Gellhorn” HBO Ruth Myers

“Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia” PBS Sarah Arthur

“Treasure Island” Syfy Lorna Marie Mugan