View Slideshow

NEW YORK — Luminaries of American fashion and the big screen tried to keep their cool Monday night as they piled into the New York Public Library’s Astor Hall for the 2006 CFDA Fashion Awards. Inside the hallowed anteroom, temperatures were high — literally and figuratively. Every designer worth their tufted pincushion waltzed in with a muse in tow — actual or just for the night. Francisco Costa arrived with Scarlett Johansson, Karl Lagerfeld brought Lindsay Lohan and Michael Kors accessorized with Kerry Washington. “I’m nervous,” said Kors, an Accessory Designer of the Year nominee. “The lights are so bright you can’t even see the audience.” Plus, he added, “I didn’t even take a Xanax.”

Calvin Klein’s Costa was named Womenswear Designer of the Year, while Thom Browne won the award for men’s wear. Tom Binns was honored with the Accessory Designer of the Year award.

Stan Herman, CFDA’s departing president, received the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Bruce Weber was given the Eugenia Sheppard Award, which recognizes members of the fashion media. Joan Kaner, Neiman Marcus’ former senior vice president and fashion director, took home the Eleanor Lambert Award. Stephen Burrows received the Board of Directors’ Special Tribute and Rochas’ Olivier Theyskens was given the International Award.

Swarovski’s Perry Ellis awards, which celebrate up-and-coming talent, went to Doo-Ri Chung for women’s wear; Trovata’s Jeff Halmos, Josia Lamberto-Egan, Sam Shipley and John Whitledge for men’s wear, and Devi Kroell for accessories design.

“I’m not nervous. I’m very excited,” said Costa, snapping his fingers. “I just want to have a good time and fun tonight.”

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus