PARIS — Aalto, Koché, Martine Rose and Y/Project are the four labels short-listed for this year’s ANDAM Fashion Award, it was revealed Thursday.

The four young brands will vie for a cash award of 250,000 euros, or $277,835, when the prestigious prize’s jury of 25 fashion experts gathers on June 30 to pick this year’s winners in four categories.

As reported, Yves Saint Laurent chief executive officer Francesca Bellettini will be the mentor for this year’s main Fashion Award winner.

“The house of Yves Saint Laurent has always been driven by incredible creators and inspired by upcoming generations,” Bellettini stated. “I’m honored to have the chance to contribute to looking for the creativity and the energy necessary to build the future of fashion. This year, the panel of talent is amazing again and I am looking forward to exchanging with all of them.”

Competing for the Creative Label prize, worth 100,000 euros, or $111,134, are Avoc, Nïuku and Marine Serre, while in the Fashion Accessories category, the short-listed designers are Ana Khouri, La Contrie and Le Gramme, who are up for a grant of 50,000 euros, or $55,567.

This year’s competition will also see a new prize awarded for fashion innovation, worth 30,000 euros, or $33,340. In the running are start-ups Euveka, which specializes in smart mannequins; Percko, which makes posture-improving innerwear, and Smartpixels, a specialist in augmented reality modeling.

All 13 finalists will receive support or advice from Galeries Lafayette, MAC Cosmetics, and Swarovski.

This year’s ANDAM is financially supported by 17 private and institutional partners.

New jury members for 2017 include Pascal Morand, executive president of the Fédération Française de la Couture du Prêt-à-Porter des Couturiers et des Créateurs de Mode; Ruth Chapman, cofounder and co-executive chairman of, and Sophia Neophitou-Apostolou, publisher of 10 Magazine and 10 Men, as reported.

The French acronym for the National Association for the Development of the Fashion Arts, ANDAM was founded in 1989 by Nathalie Dufour, with the support of the French government and with Pierre Bergé as president.

ANDAM has been a springboard for designers who would go on to achieve international recognition, including Martin Margiela, Viktor & Rolf, Christophe Lemaire and Jeremy Scott.

Last year’s winner, Johanna Senyk of Wanda Nylon, received two years of mentoring from Geoffroy de la Bourdonnaye, president and chief executive officer of Chloé.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus