DALLASCarolina Herrera will be honored with the Neiman Marcus Award for Distinguished Service in the Field of Fashion on Sept. 16 at the retailer’s flagship here.

The ceremony will take place at the Crystal Charity Ball Ten Best Dressed Women of Dallas Luncheon, at which Herrera will present a runway show of her resort collection.

Neiman’s has carried Herrera’s designs since her first collection in 1980.

“We are delighted to present Carolina Herrera the Neiman Marcus Award for Distinguished Service in the Field Of Fashion,” said Karen Katz, president and chief executive officer of Neiman Marcus Group. “Instituted in 1938, this award is given to those who have made a distinctive contribution to the world of fashion by designing, promoting, or wearing fashion in a way that influences the public. Few have accomplished this as gracefully as Mrs. Herrera in her 35 years in the fashion business.”

The most recent winners of Neiman’s highest honor were Karl Lagerfeld in 2013 and Stanley Marcus in 1995. Before that, the trophy was given annually from 1938 through 1984 to designers, beauty entrepreneurs and fashion plates, including Elsa Schiaparelli, Grace Kelly and Issey Miyake.

“I am so honored to be receiving the Neiman Marcus Award for Distinguished Service in the Field of Fashion,” Herrera said. “Neiman Marcus has been a dear friend and partner since the very beginning, and their ongoing support over the last three and a half decades has been invaluable.”

The Crystal Charity Ball is run by 100 wealthy, high-profile Dallas women. Its two key fund-raisers are the fashion luncheon, which Neiman’s has underwritten for all but one of its 43 years, and a ball in December. The nonprofit has distributed $130 million since 1952 for local children’s needs, and this year its goal is $5.6 million.

The women named 10 best dressed and the ball chairman often wear outfits by the featured designer to the luncheon, which draws around 500 people.

This year’s honorees, who are recognized for their civic service as much as their wardrobes, are Anita Arnold, Katherine Coker, Janie Condon, Tucker Enthoven, Heather Esping, Mary Clare Finney, Margaret Hancock, Pat Harloe, Julie Hawes and Piper Wyatt. The charity also named Betsy Sowell to its “Hall of Fame” for making the best-dressed list three times.