Kicking off the New Year, Ecco Domani is raising a toast to emerging talent.

This story first appeared in the January 4, 2010 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

The Italian winemaker has selected the winners of the 2010 Ecco Domani Fashion Foundation awards, which will grant designers $25,000 each toward their fall presentations during New York Fashion Week next month.

In the women’s design category, this year’s award recipients are Prabal Gurung, Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra, Ross Menuez of Salvor Projects and Phillipe Rollano and David Trujillo of The Blonds. The men’s design winner is Siki Im, while Irini Arakas of Prova will pick up the award for accessories and John Patrick of Organic for sustainable design.

“We understand the challenges emerging designers face today,” said Molly Davis, marketing director for Ecco Domani wines, adding the company is looking to “help them launch their careers and take the next step toward success.”

Ecco Domani received more than 175 applications this year, which were whittled down to 25 semifinalists. The judges then evaluated samples from the designers’ most recent collections to determine the seven winners.

As in previous years, the foundation featured an extensive group of judges across its various categories. In the women’s wear, sustainable and accessories segments, they were Ken Downing, Neiman Marcus’ senior vice president and fashion director; Nicole Fischelis, Macy’s vice president and women’s fashion director; Barneys New York’s vice president of fashion merchandising Julie Gilhart; Vogue’s fashion news/features director Sally Singer; Kim Hastreiter, editor in chief and publisher of Paper Magazine; Marylou Luther, editor at International Fashion Syndicate and The Fashion Calendar publisher Ruth Finley.

For men’s wear, the judges were Barneys’ vice president and men’s divisional merchandise manager Jay Bell; Interview magazine’s editor in chief Christopher Bollen, and Alex Badia, men’s fashion director of WWD.

For the first time, the winning designers will also participate in a group EDFF runway show, which is scheduled for Feb. 15 at the tents in Bryant Park. The show will be included in a documentary about the foundation and the winners, which is slated to air on the Lifetime Network and Lifetime Real Women this March.

The EDFF is now in its ninth season, and since its launch has granted more than $1 million to emerging talent, with past winners including Alexander Wang, Rodarte, Vena Cava, Proenza Schouler, Peter Som, Zac Posen and Derek Lam.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus