View Slideshow

NEW YORK — A new year, a new crop of emerging talent in the spotlight.

This story first appeared in the January 3, 2012 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

The Fashion Group International named the finalists and confirmed presenters for its 15th annual Rising Star Awards, which will be given during a luncheon at Cipriani 42nd Street here on Jan. 26.

In women’s ready-to-wear, the Rising Star finalists are Wes Gordon; Nary Manivong and Alexandria Hilfiger of Nahm; Elene Cassis; Joel Diaz and Christina LaPens of Jolibe; Norman Ambrose; Nara Paz of Nara Paz Design Internationale; Misha Nonoo of Nonoo; Stacy Lomman of Stacy Lomman: New York, and Steven McDermott of Stevie Mac New York. Ralph Rucci will present the award.

For men’s apparel, the nominees are Simon Spurr; Rob Magness of Grown & Sewn; Ian Velardi, and Luis M. Fernandez of Number: Lab. Thom Browne will serve as presenter of this award.

The accessories award, to be presented by Rami Kashou, will be decided from among Deborah Sawath of Thale Blanc; Ron Donovan; Katherine Kim of Roman & Sunstone; Michelle Vale; Blythe Harris of Stella & Dot; Serra Turker of Misela Inc.; Adriana Castro, and Michelle Watson of Mimi & Lu. Fine jewelry finalists are Jessica Kagan Cushman of Jessica Kagan Cushman Studio; Wendy Brandes, and Torrubia & Torrubia sisters Yolanda Torrubia and Amaia Torrubia.

The retail award will be decided from among Randi Jacobson of Realm; Tom Wilscam of Hommage Atelier by Julien Farel, and Vasken Demirjian of Vasken Demirjian Salon.

As in previous years, there will be two awards for beauty. In the fragrance corporate category, which will be presented by Elle magazine’s Emily Dougherty, the finalists are Remi Pulverail of Givaudan Fragrances; Donna Ramanauskas of Robertet Fragrances; Celine Barel of International Flavors & Fragrances Inc., and Sue Saadat of Nars Cosmetics. The nominees for fragrance entrepreneur are Kelly Van Gogh of Kelly Van Gogh Hair Colour Cosmetics; David Moltz of D.S. & Durga; Kaya Sorhaindo of Six Scents Parfums, and Worker B’s Michael Sedlacek and Liesa Helfen. Finally, the home/interior design award will be chosen from Tamara Eaton of Tamara Eaton Design; Joe Manus of Shiner International, and Coco of Cococozy.

Isabel and Ruben Toledo will serve as keynote speakers at the event, and Saks Fifth Avenue, In Style and Bebe are sponsors.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus