View Slideshow

NEW YORK — Tanya Taylor and Siki Im were the winners of the women’s wear and men’s wear prizes, respectively, of the 2015/2016 International Woolmark Prize USA regional final.

The winners, who were revealed Tuesday night at Milk Studios Penthouse here, will each receive a financial contribution of 50,000 Australian dollars, or about $37,000 at current exchange, toward their next collection. They will also be invited to compete in the international finals.

In the women’s wear category, Taylor bested Chris Gelinas, Kaelen, Nellie Partow, and Novis. In men’s wear, Siki Im beat out Cadet, David Hart, Lucio Castro, and Thaddeus O’Neil.

The winners were selected by a jury based on sketches of a six-piece merino-wool capsule collection, with one garment actually produced.

Serving on the U.S. regional judging panel were Ariel Foxman, editor in chief of InStyle magazine; Colleen Sherin, vice president and fashion director of Saks Fifth Avenue; Eric Jennings, vice president and fashion director of men’s wear, home, gifts and beauty at Saks; Francisco Costa, women’s creative director at Calvin Klein Collection; John Varvatos, chairman of John Varvatos; Nick Sullivan, fashion director at Esquire; Malcolm Carfrae, global head of communications, public relations and media at Ralph Lauren; Stefano Tonchi, editor in chief of W magazine, and Steven Kolb, chief executive officer of the Council of Fashion Designers of America.

In addition to New York, five other regional competitions have been or will be held in London, Shanghai, Sydney, Dubai and Antwerp, Belgium.

The international men’s wear final will be held at Pitti Uomo in Florence in January, and the six women’s wear finalists will compete in New York in February. The two winners will receive $100,000 Australian dollars, or about $74,000 each and the opportunity to have their collection carried in Harvey Nichols in London; 10 Corso Como in Milan, Beijing and Shanghai;;; Saks Fifth Avenue in the U.S.; Joyce in China; Isetan Mitsukoshi in Japan; Boutique 1 in the United Arab Emirates, and David Jones in Australia.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus