PARIS — The shortlist of the 12 designers vying for the three 2016 ANDAM prizes was released here on Monday.

Chosen to compete for the Fashion Award, worth 250,000 euros, or $280,190 at current exchange, were Aalto, Tim Coppens, Jacquemus, Koché, OAMC and Wanda Nylon.

Atlein, Harmony Paris and Kenta Matsushige are the nominees for the First Collections prize, valued at 100,000 euros, or $112,075. And the race for the Accessories prize, of 40,000 euros, or $44,830, includes Hugo Matha, Amélie Pichard and Tomasini Paris.

The 25-member jury will announce the winners on July 1. As reported, its new members this session, ANDAM’s 27th edition, include Emmanuelle Alt, editor in chief of Vogue Paris; Mark Holgate, Vogue U.S. fashion news director, and Marie-Pierre Lannelongue, editor in chief of M Le Monde magazine.

“Chloé is keen to mentor the winner of the Grand Prize during the year ahead in order to help them develop their own business in the global marketplace,” stated Geoffroy de la Bourdonnaye, president of Chloé and mentor of this year’s ANDAM Fashion Award’s winner.

ANDAM is financially supported by 15 private and institutional partners.

Pigalle Paris was the 2015 ANDAM victor and Stéphane Ashpool, the label’s designer, is receiving creative and strategic advice from Bruno Pavlovsky, president of Chanel fashion, the 2015 mentor.

The French acronym for the National Association for the Development of the Fashion Arts, ANDAM was founded in 1989 by Nathalie Dufour, with the support of the French government and with Pierre Bergé as president.

ANDAM has been a springboard for an array of designers who would go on to achieve international recognition, including Martin Margiela, Viktor & Rolf, Christophe Lemaire and Jeremy Scott.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus