NEW YORK — Donna Karan is the Council of Fashion Designers of America’s pick for its 1997 women’s wear designer of the year.
Other winners include Ralph Lauren for men’s wear and Elsa Peretti for accessories design.
It is the first men’s wear award for Lauren, who has won three CFDA awards, including a lifetime achievement award.
Karan has won two CFDA awards, for men’s wear and advertising.
The awards were announced Thursday at a press conference at the Mayfair Hotel here to a crowd of about 50 journalists and designers, including Lauren, Rebecca Moses, Kenneth Cole, Michael Kors and Joan Vass.
The awards are voted on by a panel of 70 journalists.
In the Perry Ellis new designer categories, the women’s wear award will go to Daryl Kerrigan, a young Irish-born designer here who designs under the Daryl K. label.
Gene Meyer will receive the men’s wear award, and Kari Sigerson and Miranda Morrison will get the accessories award for their Sigerson Morrison footwear and accessories line.
Special awards, which are decided by the CFDA board, are going to the Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute’s curator Richard Martin and associate curator Harold Koda, for “furthering fashion as art and culture.”
The international award, which is given to an influential designer outside the U.S., is going to Helmut Lang; the Eugenia Sheppard award for fashion writing is going to New York Times fashion critic Amy Spindler and the lifetime achievement award is going to Arnold Scaasi.
Dom Perignon, a sponsor of the awards, chose Kenneth Cole as the recipient of its humanitarian award.