NEW YORK — In addition to its previously announced nominations for the American Fashion Awards, the Council of Fashion Designers of America said Monday that special achievement awards will be presented to Bernard Arnault, Dawn Mello, Bob Mackie and Saks Fifth Avenue.
Arnault, chairman of LVMH Moet Hennessy Louis Vuitton, is being recognized for his influence on the globalization of fashion businesses.
Mello, the former president of Bergdorf Goodman who formed her own consulting firm in 1999, will receive the CFDA’s Eleanor Lambert Award in recognition of her contributions toward the advancement of the culture of American fashion.
Mackie, who started his career in Hollywood in the Sixties as a sketch artist and costume designer and created dresses for so many film stars that he became known as “Mr. Show Business,” is being honored for “his exuberant style and glorification of fashion.”
Saks will receive an award for its philanthropic efforts related to the “Fashion Targets Breast Cancer” campaign.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus