NEW YORK — Tom Ford, Calvin Klein and Helmut Lang grabbed nominations on Monday for women’s wear designer of the year at the upcoming Council of Fashion Designers of America’s 20th annual American Fashion Awards.
Klein will also receive CFDA’s Lifetime Achievement Award at the event, scheduled for June 14, confirming a WWD report on Monday. Evelyn Lauder, senior corporate vice president at Estee Lauder Cos., will receive its Humanitarian Award, and Bridget Foley, vice president and executive editor of WWD and W, will receive the Eugenia Sheppard Award for her accomplishments in fashion journalism.
After meeting with a committee of editors and retailers on Monday afternoon, the CFDA announced nominees in seven categories for its annual awards ceremony, to be held this year at Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center.
For its international award, nominees are Nicholas Ghesquiere, Karl Lagerfeld and Alexander McQueen. For men’s wear designer of the year, Richard Bengtsson and Edward Pavlick of Richard Edwards, Marc Jacobs and John Varvatos were nominated. For accessories designer of the year, nominees are Marc Jacobs, Michael Kors and Reed Krakoff, president and executive creative director of Coach.
Perry Ellis Awards will again be presented to new talents in the fields of women’s, men’s and accessories design. Nominees for women’s wear are Daphne Gutierrez and Nicole Noselli for Bruce, Tara Subkoff and Matt Damhave for Imitation of Christ and Alice Roi. For men’s wear, the nominees are Sean Combs for Sean John, the Organization for Returning Fashion Interest (Orfi) and William Reid. For accessories, nominees are Edmundo Castillo, Isabel Fiori and Andy Spade for Jack Spade.