NEW YORK — The Council of Fashion Designers of America elected 14 new designers to its membership this week, with the majority based in women’s wear.
This year’s inductees are sportswear designers Miguel Adrover, Nanette Lepore, Jeff Mahshie of Chaiken, Catherine Malandrino and Luca Orlandi of Luca Luca. Eveningwear designers Christina Perrin, David Rodriguez, Craig Natiello of Halston, Geri Gerard and Peter Som were also elected for membership.
Peter Speliopoulos, an American who designs for the Italian label Cerruti, was elected, while R. Scott French, who designs men’s and women’s collections, was the only representative from the men’s wear industry this year to be chosen. From the accessories category, Dean Harris and Patricia Ficalora were elected, bringing CFDA’s total membership to 254 designers.
“I think this is one of the strongest groups of solid young designers we’ve had in a long time,” said Stan Herman, president of the CFDA. “As young designers, they’re prepared to elevate the status of ready-to-wear in America.”