NEW YORK — Helmut Lang might walk away from this year’s American Fashion Awards a very happy man.
The designer, who moved his business here from Europe two years ago, has been nominated for three awards: women’s wear, men’s wear and accessories designer of the year.
This is the first year those awards were not determined in advance. Nominees in each category were instead announced at a press conference, held by the award sponsors, the Council of Fashion Designers of America, here on Wednesday. Winners will be named at a ceremony on June 15 at Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center.
“I’m very honored and very pleased,” Lang said. “It’s a great late welcome to New York.”
The other nominees are Donna Karan and Oscar de la Renta for women’s wear; Kenneth Cole and Marc Jacobs for men’s wear and Janis Savitt and Lambertson Truex’s Richard Lambertson and John Truex for accessories.
Nominees for the international award are Jean Paul Gaultier, Muiccia Prada and Jil Sander.
Valentino will receive a lifetime achievement award; Bill Blass, “the dean of American fashion,” will get a special tribute, and a humanitarian award will go to Liz Claiborne for the Liz Claiborne Art Ortenberg Foundation.
Nominees for the Perry Ellis award for new designers are Miguel Adrover, Jeremy Scott and Rebecca Taylor for women’s wear and Jason Bunin, Sean (Puffy) Combs for Sean John and John Varvatos for men’s wear.
Dean Harris, Zoe Metro for Stella Pace and Michele Quan and Robin Renzi for Me & Ro were nominated for the Perry Ellis accessories category.