NEW YORK — Two members of the fashion and beauty industries will be among this year’s recipients of Ellis Island Medals of Honor.
Leonard Lauder, chief executive officer of Estee Lauder Cos., and Elyse Kroll, president of ENK International, will be honored in ceremonies scheduled to take place Saturday in the Great Hall on Ellis Island.
This year’s other honorees are Sen. John McCain, Attorney General Janet Reno, actresses Susan Lucci and Chita Rivera, New York Yankees manager Joe Torre, Salvatore F. Sodano, chairman of the American Stock Exchange, and Norman P. Blake Jr., chief executive of the United States Olympic Committee.
This year’s recipients were announced by William Fugazy, chairman of the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations. NECO organized the awards in 1986 as a way to pay tribute to America’s numerous ancestral groups and to foster ethnic and religious equality and tolerance.
Thus far, about 1,200 ethnic American citizens and Native Americans have received medals. Each year, potential recipients are selected through a national nomination process, after which screening committees and the NECO board select the final nominees.