NEW YORK — Alexander Wang was chosen as the fifth CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund recipient.

At Monday night’s CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund dinner gala, Wang took home the top honors, pocketing $200,000 and a year’s worth of mentoring. Lisa Mayock and Sophie Buhai of Vena Cava and Albertus Q. Swanepoel of Albertus Quartus were this year’s runners-up, and will each receive $50,000 and a business mentor.

This story first appeared in the November 18, 2008 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

The winners beat out finalists Richard Chai, Jason Wu, Irene Neuwirth, Alejandro Ingelmo, Juan Carlos Obando, Obedient Sons & Daughters and Organic.

In addition to the finalists, the dinner feted the Fashion Fund’s fifth anniversary. The event took place at Skylight Studios here, with John Galliano as the night’s keynote speaker.

This year’s selection committee consisted of CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg; CFDA executive director Steven Kolb and associate director Lisa Smilor; Vogue’s Anna Wintour and Sally Singer; Theory’s Andrew Rosen; Coach’s Reed Krakoff; Jeffrey Kalinsky of Jeffrey New York and Nordstrom; Gap’s Patrick Robinson, and Barneys New York’s Julie Gilhart.

Founded by the Council of Fashion Designers of America and Vogue, the fund is seen as an accelerator of fashion careers. Previous winners were Rogan in 2007, Doo-Ri Chung in 2006, Trovata in 2005 and Proenza Schouler in 2004. Past runners-up were 3.1 Phillip Lim, Philip Crangi Jewelry, Rodarte, Thakoon, Derek Lam, Thom Browne, Cloak and Habitual.

You May Also Like

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus