NEW YORK — Marc Jacobs, Francisco Costa of Calvin Klein, and Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler have been nominated for the 2008 Womenswear Designer of the Year award by the Council of Fashion Designers of America.

In the men’s wear category, Tom Ford, Thom Browne and Michael Bastian are nominated for Menswear Designer of the Year. Jacobs, Michael Kors and Tory Burch will compete for the Accessory Designer of the Year award.

Nominees for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear are Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte, Alexander Wang and Thakoon Panichgul. For men’s wear, they are Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders, Tim Hamilton and Patrick Ervell. The Swarovski Award for Accessory Design will be decided among Philip Crangi, Joy Gryson and Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry.

Dries van Noten will receive the International Award: Carolina Herrera will be given the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, and Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg will take home this year’s Board of Director’s Special Tribute.’s Candy Pratts Price will receive the Eugenia Sheppard Award.

The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards, were confirmed Monday at a meeting of the CFDA board, and unveiled Monday night at an event hosted by the CFDA board of directors and Swarovski at the Rooftop Gardens on top of Rockefeller Center.

The 2008 CFDA Fashion Awards will take place at the New York Public Library on June 2, and will be staged as a theater-style show followed by a dinner at the adjacent Bryant Park Grill. Swarovski is underwriting the event for the seventh year. Fran Lebowitz will emcee this year’s event.

For complete coverage, see Tuesday’s WWD.