NEW YORK — The Council of Fashion Designers of America inducted new members on Wednesday, including several of the rising stars of the New York scene and some who are well established.

The CFDA board ratified the election of 21 new designers to the organization, from Behnaz Sarafpour to Maggie Norris, bringing its total to about 280 designers. Several Swarovski’s Perry Ellis Award winners and nominees were included, such as Brian Atwood, Eugenia Kim, David Nakard Armstrong and Anthony Camargo of Anthony Nak, Zac Posen and Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez.

“The group embodies the breadth and scope of new American fashion talent,” said Peter Arnold, executive director of the CFDA. “It also includes established designers who now want to be a part of the CFDA and benefit from its services.”

Other new women’s wear members are Yigal Azrouel, Bryan Bradley of Tuleh, Francisco Costa of Calvin Klein, James Coviello, Trina Turk and Edward Wilkerson of Lafayette 148. Jerry Kaye, executive vice president and design director for Perry Ellis men’s wear, was the only men’s designer represented among the inductees.

New accessories members are Atwood, Kim, Armstrong and Camargo, plus Simon Alcantara, Judith Ripka, Laurie Stark of Chrome Hearts, Gordon Thompson of Cole Haan and Stuart Weitzman.

This story first appeared in the July 22, 2004 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.