NEW  YORK — The Council of Fashion Designers of America approved membership for 40 designers during a board meeting July 19, bringing the membership headcount to 504.

Another order of business during the meeting was the unanimous vote to extend Diane von Furstenberg’s role as chairwoman of the CFDA through 2018. During last year’s new members board meeting, it was decided that von Furstenberg’s title would change from president to chairwoman.

“The board’s unanimous decision to ask Diane to stay on as chairwoman is a further testament to the unprecedented growth the CFDA has experienced under her leadership,” said Steven Kolb, president and chief executive officer of the CFDA. “The additional two years allow her to continue to strengthen the board and organization as a whole.”

New members are admitted based on their combination of creativity, status of their business, references and their application. The admissions committee, chaired by Reed Krakoff, must also recognize a consistent and unique brand identity.

CFDA board member Tory Burch will host the new members party at her home in the fall.

According to Lisa Smilor, the CFDA’s executive vice president, this year the organization received a record number of applicants. “The 40 new members continue to extend the range of CFDA talent in categories from jewelry to footwear, lingerie and millinery in addition to apparel,” she said.

The new members of the CFDA are:

Dana Arbib, A Peace Treaty

Anna Sheffield, Anna Sheffield Fine Jewelry

Annette Stephens, Anndra Neen

Phoebe Stephens, Anndra Neen

Adam Goldston, Athletic Propulsion Labs (APL)

Ryan Goldston, Athletic Propulsion Labs (APL)

Brandon Maxwell, Brandon Maxwell

Aurora James, Brother Vellies

Raul Arevalo, Cadet

Brad Schmidt, Cadet

Stuart Vevers, Coach

Jennifer Zuccarini, Fleur du Mal

Garrett Leight, Garrett Leight California Optical

Isa Tapia, Isa Tapia

Jasmin Shokrian, Jasmin Shokrian

Jeremy Scott, Jeremy Scott

Jordan Askill, Jordan Askill

Kobi Halperin, Kobi Halperin

Matteo Gottardi, W.R.K.

Yves Spinelli, Spinelli Kilcollin

Scot Shandalove, Matiere

Jake Zeitlin, Matiere

Lucy Wallace Eustice, MZ Wallace

Monica Zwirner, MZ Wallace

Sophia Amoruso, Nasty Gal

Nick Fouquet, Nick Fouquet

Alex Orley, Orley

Matthew Orley, Orley

Samantha Orley, Orley

Rosetta Getty, Rosetta Getty

Sarah Flint, Sarah Flint

Thaddeus O’Neil, Thaddeus O’Neil

Lisa Kulson, Theory

Ben Stubbington, Theory

Alan Eckstein, Timo Weiland

Donna Kang, Timo Weiland

Timo Weiland, Timo Weiland

Wes Gordon, Wes Gordon

Marissa Webb, Marissa Webb

Catherine Zadeh, Zadeh