View Slideshow

NEW YORK — The nominees and special honorees for the 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards have been set.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America’s Womenswear Designer of the Year award nominees are Marc Jacobs, Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row and Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez. The Menswear Designer of the Year award will be decided between Patrik Ervell, Billy Reid and Simon Spurr. In the accessory category, the nominees are Alexander Wang, Reed Krakoff and McCollough and Hernandez for Proenza Schouler.

This story first appeared in the March 15, 2012 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

The June 4 awards gala at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall, which marks the CFDA’s 50th anniversary, will also honor emerging talents with the Swarovski Award (the Austrian crystal maker also returns as the night’s underwriter), and this year, the nominees in the Womenswear category are Joseph Altuzarra, Chris Peters and Shane Gabier for Creatures of the Wind and Suno’s Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty. In Menswear, the Swarovski Award will be chosen between Antonio Azzuolo, Todd Snyder and Phillip Lim, and in Accessory Design, between Tabitha Simmons, Pamela Love and Irene Neuwirth.

Once again, the CFDA will hand out several honorary awards that evening. Tommy Hilfiger will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, and Rei Kawakubo the night’s International Award. The Founders Award, in honor of Eleanor Lambert, will go to Andrew Rosen, and the Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, will be handed to Scott Schuman and Garance Doré. Johnny Depp is to receive this year’s Fashion Icon Award.

Seth Meyers, the head writer of “Saturday Night Live” and anchor of its “Weekend Update” segment, will serve as the night’s host.

The awards were announced at the studio of CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg Wednesday evening.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus