NEW YORK — Oscar de la Renta, Proenza Schouler’s Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough and Marc Jacobs will compete for the Council of Fashion Designers of America’s 2007 Womenswear Designer of the Year award.

This year’s 25th annual awards ceremony will take place June 4 at the New York Public Library, and for the sixth year, will be underwritten by Swarovski.

Ralph Lauren, who is marking his 40th year in business in 2007, will receive a special honor with the CFDA’s first-ever American Fashion Legend Award.

Robert Lee Morris will take home a lifetime achievement award, which this year has been renamed the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of the $5 million gift from Beene’s estate to benefit the CFDA scholarship fund. Patrick Demarchelier will be given the Eleanor Lambert Award, while Robin Givhan, the fashion editor of The Washington Post, will receive the Eugenia Sheppard Award.

In men’s wear, Ralph Lauren, Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein and Duckie Brown’s Steven Cox and Daniel Silver are nominated for the Menswear Designer of the Year Award, and Michael Kors, Marc Jacobs for Marc Jacobs, and Derek Lam are competing for the Accessory Designer of the Year award.

Swarovski’s Perry Ellis Award honoring emerging talent has been renamed the Swarovski Award. This year’s nominees are Phillip Lim, Thakoon Panichgul and Rodarte’s Kate and Laura Mulleavy for women’s wear; David Neville and Marcus Wainwright of Rag & Bone, Michael Bastian and Tim Hamilton for men’s wear, and Bing Bang’s Anna Sheffield, Subversive’s Justin Giunta and Loeffler Randall’s Jessie Randall for accessories. Each of the three winners will receive a monetary prize, as well as Swarovski product and access to the crystal maker’s resources.

The honorees and nominees were picked by CFDA members, press, retailers and stylists, and were ratified at a CFDA board meeting on Monday. Ernst & Young LLP will tabulate the final votes. The awards will be produced by KCD, and Douglas Lloyd of Lloyd & Co. will oversee the event’s graphics.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus