NEW YORK — Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein; Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs have been nominated for the 2006 Womenswear Designer of the Year award by the Council of Fashion Designers of America.

Olivier Theyskens for Rochas will receive the International Award; Stan Herman, president of the CFDA, will be given the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Stephen Burrows will receive the Board of Director’s Special Tribute. Other special awards will go to Joan Kaner, former senior vice president and fashion director of Neiman Marcus, who will receive the Eleanor Lambert Award, and Bruce Weber, who will receive the Eugenia Sheppard Award.

This story first appeared in the March 28, 2006 issue of WWD. Subscribe Today.

The awards gala, which will take place June 5 at the New York Public Library, will be hosted by “Entourage” star Jeremy Piven.

In the men’s wear category, Ralph Lauren, Thom Browne and Alexandre Plokhov for Cloak have been nominated for Menswear Designer of the Year. Tom Binns, Marc Jacobs and Michael Kors will compete for the Accessory Designer of the Year award.

Nominees for Swarovski’s Perry Ellis Award for Womenswear are Doo-Ri Chung, Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, and Thakoon Panichgul. In men’s wear, nominees for the Perry Ellis Award are Steven Cox and Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown; Nathan Bogle, David Neville and Marcus Wainwright for Rag & Bone, and Jeff Halmos, Josia Lamberto-Egan, Sam Shipley and John Whitledge for Trovata.

For Swarovski’s Perry Ellis Award for Acces­sory Design the nominees are Devi Kroell, Alyssa Norton and Jessie Randall for Loeffler Randall. The winner in each category will receive financial support and product from Swarovski, as well as exposure to the company’s crystal resources.

The nominated designers for the top awards in the women’s wear, men’s wear and accessories categories will be judged on both their spring and fall 2006 collections.

The nominees were announced Monday night at a cocktail party at the Rooftop Gardens on top of Rockefeller Center, hosted by the CFDA board of directors and Nadja Swarovski. For the fifth consecutive year, Swarovski has underwritten the CFDA Fashion Awards.

The award nominees were selected by the CFDA membership, press, retailers and stylists. The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards, were confirmed Monday at a meeting of the CFDA board. This year’s awards selection committee will be able to vote online and view each nominee’s collection, beginning April 24 at The final votes will be tabulated by Ernst & Young LLP, the official accounting firm of the CFDA Fashion Awards.

load comments
blog comments powered by Disqus